Various – Reggae Mandela (LP)

12. March 2019

12 revolutionary recordings that mashed down apartheid in South Africa finally 25 years ago with the elections in 1994 which were the first in which citizens of all races were allowed to take part! "Reggae Mandela" is more than a tribute and features a strong line-up of top artists - singers and harmony vocal groups - Johnny Osbourne, Junior Delgado, Sugar Minott, Barrington Levy, Half Pint, The Mighty Diamonds, the Mighty Travellers and more. Released as LP-Vinyl with close to all tracks being are in demand with collectors!

As the truth about the inhuman conditions in South African apartheid became commonly known around the world, countless Jamaican artists were inspired to voice their concerns and extol praises on the nation’s most prominent freedom fighter… Nelson Mandela. The musical support for Nelson Mandela and dissent and disgust of the apart-heid system from Jamaica was not only confined to culturally inclined artists who had fought long and hard to assert their “declarations of rights” but also from every corner of reggae music. From velvet voiced vocalists renowned for their romantically inclined love songs to the “rockstone” delivery of dance hall deejays, established veterans and youthful newcomers all came together to address the common cause of South African freedom. Feature tracks include "Freedom Fighters", "Free Mandela" and "South Africa"!

Side One
A1 South Africa – Mighty Travellers
A2 Free South Africa – Frankie Jones
A3 Freedom Fighters – Half Pint
A4 Wipe Out Apartheid – Johnny Osbourne
A5 Nah Go To South Africa – Sugar Minott
A6 Mash Down Apartheid - Mystic Revealers
Side Two
B1 Hanging Tree – Junior Delgado
B2 Free Mandela – Yami Bolo
B3 The Real Enemy – The Mighty Diamonds
B4 Mandela You’re Free – Barrington Levy
B5 Mr. Mandela African Hero – Clive Hylton
B6 Thank You Mr. Mandela – Carlene Davis

Listen to "South Africa" by Mighty Travellers from the 1976 7-inch single
LP (analog) / VP
Erscheint am 08.03.2019