Rhi – Reverie (Ltd. Numbered Purple Vinyl LP+MP3) (RSD)

13. March 2018

Rhi – Reverie
“One to watch” – LAUREN LAVERNE (BBC 6MUSIC)
“Fresh signing…killer tracks from her debut album” – THE INDEPENDENT
“A variety of sonic treats over its hip hop and downtempo backgrounds. It’s a strong album throughout.” CMU APPROVED

Pressed to wax for Record Store Day, ‘Reverie’ is the debut album from Tru Thoughts’, Rhi. Through atmospheric, woozy beats, soft pads and slow clicks, Rhi creates a very personal arena guided by her romanticised dialogue and the glowing melodies which come in and out of focus. Limited to 500 copies worldwide, this impressive release has been pressed to eye-catching transparent purple vinyl and also includes Jam City’s (Kelela, Night Slugs) glistening remix of “Too High”.

Rhi, aka Rhiannon Bouvier, finds influence in electronic fields near and far. Experimenting with gothic sound beds and woozy hip hop beats, she pushes electronic frontiers by melding lo-fi effects and contorting her own vocals as part of honing a sophisticated, minimal style.

Her music has been strongly influenced by the sounds that have surrounded her from a young age: minor keys, romantic composers, her mother’s piano playing; it was important to Rhi that she was able to find music that she connected with along the way. Admiring the music of producers such as Arca, who’s collaborations with FKA Twigs on her ‘EP2’ were one of the biggest inspirations behind her new outfit, Rhi also cites Noah Shebib aka ‘40’ for his part in Drakes ‘If You're Reading This It's Too Late’ as holding a big influence on ‘Reverie’.

Rhi began writing the tracks which would make up her debut album in late 2015. Written about being comfortable in your own thoughts and dreams, Rhi explains: “The lyrics are dreamy, fantastical and sometimes confessional and explore how you can be honest with yourself”. Exploring themes of love, loss, reality and existence, Rhi creates chilled beats, which range in style from bass music to hip hop and R&B to lo-fi. Revealing more on why her upcoming project is personal to her, she explains: “I feel that music is a way to express myself with no limits, and I always go into it feeling complete freedom".

Key Marketing Points:
- Includes Jam City (Kelela, Night Slugs) remix of Too high.
- Pressed on eye-catching transparent purple vinyl.
- Limited to 500 copies and individually machine numbered.
- Official video for “Too High” premiered with Complex UK in January 2018.
- Radio & press support from BBC Radio 1’s Benji B, Lauren Laverne (BBC 6Music), , Nemone (BBC 6Music), Complex, The Independent, CMU Daily.
- Live performances in 2017/2018 included Tru Thoughts 18th Birthday shows at London’s Roundhouse/Brighton Dome and support slots with Jono McCleery, Hackney Colliary Band, The Heliocentrics and more.

LP Tracklist:
A1. The Same
A2. Too High
A3. Cherry Glow
A4. Real
A5. Roar
A6. Night Driving
B1. Slow Dance
B2. Romance
B3. Forever
B4. Let’s Talk
B5. Too High (Jam City Remix)
*Inc Download card.
Erscheint am 21.04.2018