Echo Collective – Echo Collective Plays Radiohead (180g)

13. March 2018

Doppel-LP / 7K
7K present, Echo Collective plays Amnesiac the new album by belgian band Echo Collective covering Radiohead’s classic “Amnesiac”

A1 Packt Like Sardines In A
Crushed Tin Box (4:26)
A2 Pyramid Song (5:29)
B1 You and Whose Army? (5:24)
B2 I Might Be Wrong (4:59)
C1 Knives Out (4:04)
C2 Morning Bell / Amnesiac (3:27)
C3 Dollars & Cents (4:54)
D1 Hunting Bears - Like Spinning Plates (7:11)
D2 Life in a Glasshouse (4:13)

Over the past few years orchestral instrumental music from outside the classical establishment has become huge, and Neil Leiter and Margaret Hermant of the Belgian Echo Collective have witnessed the evolution and extraordinary rise of this movement right up close. They've worked with some of the most important players, including Stars Of The Lid, Dustin O’Halloran and Adam Wiltze’s A Winged Victory For The Sullen and O’Halloran’s solo projects, as well as Jóhann Jóhannsson. And though the Echo Collective members themselves very much do come from within the classical music establishment, they don't care which side of the fence they are seen to be on.
It was this which grabbed the attention of German music hub !K7's new sub-label 7K! - who have signed them for a two album deal: first to release the Amnesiac reinterpretation, then for a record of Echo Collective's own compositions. Not only that but they have been signed for publishing by Mutesong, which led to a hook-up with Mute mainstays Erasure, re-arranging and re-recording their latest album World Be Gone with classical instrumentation backing Andy Bell's vocals. This ability to flow easily from black metal to Radiohead, from Erasure to Stars Of The Lid shows exactly what kind of musicians Echo Collective are.
The album, which features artwork by the renowned photographer and artist Roger Ballen, will be released on 30 March on CD, 2LP and digital platforms.
Doppel-LP / 7K
Erscheint am 30.03.2018