Search results for PERSEPHONE RECORDS

Dirty Art Club – Basement Seance
Saturday, January 27th, 2018 | Posted in Products | Comments Off on Dirty Art Club – Basement Seance

Image: 1617640 Entering the Dirty Art Club is like letting an encyclopedic sample curator
soundtrack a vibrant psychedelic cartoon dream. Conceived in North
Carolina, fragments of sun-kissed soul and dusty psyche-rock sounds
are stitched together and intertwined with live instrumentation recorded
in a home studio setup to convey a woozy and soulful experience. It’s
a blend that’s been refined on Dirty Art Club’s latest album, Basement
Seance, which is themed around sampling rare “old songs and records
that barely anybody’s heard” and reanimating them into a new life.
Embracing a recording environment that usually involves sitting on the
floor in a dark room, the Dirty Art Club production style is anchored
around the technique of creating a sonic texture based on multiple
sources: The fruits of vinyl digging trips are combined with layers of live
instrumentation and embellished with field recordings and atmospheric
effects. These component parts are skillfully mixed so that they “sound
like one sample.” It’s a trick that creates a unity of sound where songs
segue together while moving the emotional narrative along.
This emotional resonance is what elevates Dirty Art Club’s music from
being a simple hip-hop beat tape. It’s a feat made more remarkable by
the fact that during the two year recording process of Basement Seance,
its chief protagonist was overcoming a battle with the medical condition
anhedonia as a symptom of a larger unspecified health issue. It left him
temporarily “losing the innate feelings that govern how I identify with
and perceive music.” This was after a lifetime of feeling “music-inspired
emotion” more than any other source.

1. Queen Persephone
2. Painkillers
3. The Gate
4. God City
5. Pulp
6. Sick Boy
7. What If
8. Basement Seance
9. Into the Spiritual
10. The 13th Dimension
11. Native’s Blood
12. Ultraviolet Chandelier
13. Sugar
14. Soul Eater
15. Numerology
16. Fires
17. Planet Xanax
18. Sayonara
19. True Stories
20. Daysleeper
21. The Machine
22. Midnight Blue
23. Yesterday Is Forever Available from 16.02.2018

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung