Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Jan 17 2018 | 20:43
Image: 1617466 This fall, Danny Watts will release his debut album Black Boy Meets World
on Jonwayne’s imprint Authors Recording Company. Beats were supplied
in full by Jonwayne, creating the environments that mesh to Danny Watts’
introspective lyricism and soulful cadences on the mic. The Houston based
rapper has created a body of work that details his life experiences with an
honest and uncompromising lens, jumping out of the Authors Recording
Company gates as the first release after the critically acclaimed Rap Album
Two. Before the release of Black Boy Meets World, Danny Watts is offering
up the album’s lead single “Young & Reckless” feat. Aye Mitch! today.
Danny Watts and Jonwayne recently captured Black Boy Meets World
in the span of only a week, recording the 11-track LP at the Los Angeles
recording facility Cosmic Zoo. Danny also wrote all of the lyrics to the album
in this same window, finishing up to three songs per day as the Cosmic
Zoo sessions occurred in an intense yet efficient form. Mixing and mastering
was completed by Low End Theory’s Daddy Kev and artwork was supplied
by Authors’ creative director Shane Sakanoi. With executive oversight and
production on every track supplied by Jonwayne, guest contributions and
features include Ray Wright of Warm Brew, DIBIA$E, Leaving Records’
Kiefer, Dr. Octagon collaborator Juan Alderete de la Pena, Zeroh, and many
others. The overall effect presents the ethos of hip-hop’s many forms, pulled
into the weight of classic sounding kicks, snares, hi-hats, basslines, keys,
synths, and horns.
The process that brought Danny Watts to this stage of his music career
defines his maturation process as a man and the roads that have split out
from this path. “This whole album is me telling my story from my perspective,”
explains Danny Watts. “Everyone goes through their own unique experiences
in life that forces them to really understand how the world operates. You either
allow yourself to succumb to the pressures of life or just find the strength to
make the best of your environment. Writing this album helped me realize
how some lessons in life are inescapable. I spent my whole life telling myself
that I would never end up like certain people. Thinking that I was better than
a lot of people because a part of me felt and thought differently from most of
my peers. Then I ended up finding myself in those same situations that I just
knew for sure that I wouldn’t end up in.”

1. I Don’t Trust Myself
2. Cards With The Devil (ft. Ray Wright)
3. Young & Reckless (ft. Aye Mitch!)
4. Pill
5. Ain’t No Problem
6. Things We Have To Do
7. Uprooted
8. A Lullaby For You
9. Back Again
10. Lester’s Interlude
11. Black Boy Meets World

• Entirely produced by Jonwayne
• Was touring the release of Black Boy Meets World with Jonwyne’s Rap Album Two US Tour
• Guest contributions and features include Ray Wright of Warm Brew, DIBIA$E, Leaving Records’ Kiefer, Dr. Octagon collaborator Juan Alderete de la Pena, Zeroh, and many others Available from 02.02.2018
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung