Recent posts

Chuuwee – Paradiso
Jan 22, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Sunday, Jan 14 2018 | 17:40
Image: 1617253 Bernard Purdie is one of the most well known drummers of all time, and
probably the most recorded in history. From his early days as a session
player, Purdie rose to become Aretha Franklin’s musical director, did over-
dubs for The Beatles, and recorded with the likes of Steely Dan, Cat
Stevens, Joe Cocker, Hall & Oats, Quincy Jones, Roberta Flack, and
James Brown, to name a few. In 1967 he entered a studio with several
friends to cut his first solo album, “Soul Drums”. The album was critically
acclaimed upon its initial release, only to reach mythical proportions
once being rediscovered by DJs and hip-hop producers years later, when
it became one of the most sought-after drum LPs among vinyl collectors.
“Soul Drums” is now available on vinyl for the first time in years, along
with an entire bonus LP comprising Purdie’s long-lost follow-up LP
“Alexander’s Rag Time Band”, which was never given a proper release.
This deluxe gatefold re-issue also includes liner notes taken from a
recent interview with Purdie, plus rare photos from the late 1960s.

1. Soul Drums
2. Bee ’N’ Tee
3. Caravan
4. Soul Bossa Nova
5. Jimmy’s Back
6. Funky Donkey
7. Bill’s Groove
8. On The Outskirts Of Minitown
9. Testifyin’
10. Modern Jive
11. Blow Your Lid (But Watch Your Cool)
12. Alexander’s Ragtime Band
13. Fickle Finger Of Fate
14. Genuine John
15. Soul Clappin’
16. Groovin’
17. If You Never Cried
18. Stop
19. Time Is Tight Available from 02.02.2018
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung