Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Jan 02 2018 | 13:23 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Hüsker DüExperience the punishing sonic origins of a punk icon. Collected here for the first time, and skillfully remastered from original board tapes, demos, and session masters, this collection is an authoritative chronicling of the wellspring and maturation of Grant Hart, Greg Norton and Bob Mould – three St. Paul teenagers who’d go on to become the most heralded trio of the American punk underground. Follow the Hüskers to their earliest gigs in 1979, through extensive road dog touring, and to the start of their partnership with West Coast tastemak er SST in 1983.

This primitive stage in the fabled career of Hüsker Dü is presented as a deluxe box set and packaged with a hardbound book crammed full of never before seen photos, flyers, and a sprawling essay with participation from the band. Spread across four LPs or three CDs, 47 of the 69 songs compiled here are previously unissued. Also included are Statues/Amusement, In A Free Land, Everything Falls Apart, and an alternate recording of the Land Speed Record set.

“We created this blistering wall of sound – bright white radio static with occasional melody.” – Bob Mould
“It was like rolling down a hill aware of the bumps, but focusing on blowing people’s minds and completely wearing out the audience.” – Grant Hart
“We didn’t know what hardcore was. We just got up there and played real fast and loud.” – Greg Norton

Package details:
– 4 LPs or 3CDs
– Tip on jackets or die cut sleeves
– 108-page or 144-page hardcover book
– Linen-finished slipcase
– 69 songs, 47 previously unissued
– Flyerography
– 40 previously unpublished photographs
– 12,000 word essay by Erin Osmon
– Sessionography by Paul Hilcoff
– Remastered from the original analog tapes

Tracklisting (3CD):

CD1 1. Do You Remember? 2. Sore Eyes 3. Can’t See You Anymore 4. Picture Of You 5. The Truth Hurts 6. Do The Bee 7. Nuclear Nightmare 8. All I’ve Got To Lose Is You 9. Chinese Rocks 10. Uncle Ron 11. Data Control 12. Insects Rule The World 13. You’re Too Obtuse 14. Outside 15. Sexual Economics 16. What Went Wrong? 17. Statues 18. Amusement 19. Writer’s Cramp 20. Let’s Go Die 21. Walk With The Wounded 22. Industrial Grocery Store

CD2 1. Drug Party 2. Call On Me 3. Termination 4. I’m Tired Of Doing Things 5. Stick It To Me 6. Wheels 7. All Tensed Up 8. Don’t Try To Call 9. I’m Not Interested 10. Guns At My School 11. Push The Button 12. Gilligan’s Island 13. MTC 14. Don’t Have A Life 15. You’re Naive 16. Strange Week 17. Big Sky 18. Ultracore 19. Let’s Go Die 20. Won’t Say A Word 21. Don’t Try It 22. Private Hell 23. Diane 24. Sex Dolls

CD3 1. In A Free Land 2. What Do I Want? 3. M.I.C. 4. Target 5. Signals From Above 6. From The Gut 7. Blah, Blah, Blah 8. Punch Drunk 9. Bricklayer 10. Afraid Of Being Wrong 11. Sunshine Superman 12. Signals From Above 13. Everything Falls Apart 14. Wheels 15. Target 16. Obnoxious 17. Gravity 18. Do You Remember? 19. Travel In Opposite Car 20. It’s Not Funny Anymore 21. Real World 22. Out On A Limb 23. It’s Not Fair

The 3CD box set Hüsker DüSavage Young Dü (3CD+Book)” (Numero Group) is going to be released January 5, 2018.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung