Thursday, Oct 05 2017 | 21:28
Image: 1615537 Composed of members Buckshot, 5ft, and DJ Evil Dee, Black Moon simultaneously kicked off and defned the rap renaissance of New York with the release of Enta Da Stage in 1993. Whereas plenty of earlier groups had spit rage-flled rhymes to tear down the world’s unjust establishments, no one had evoked brooding pathos or introspective anger quite like Black Moon. Underground hip-hop might have been dominated by the sunny sound of G-Funk when Enta Da Stage dropped, but from then on the scene turned to the dark side. Black Moon was rising. Earlier this year, Fat Beats Records presented the defnitive Enta Da Stage box set, which was reissued for the frst time across three formats (6xLP, 3xCD and 3xCassette). This album is the complete encapsulation of an era for anyone seeking to understand the origin and the essence of New York’s Golden Age.The box set included vocals, instrumentals and remixes plus extensive liner notes by David Ma (Pitchfork, Wax Poetics) with rare and unreleased visual ephemera in an 18 page booklet. The story of Black Moon, alongside their peers Biggie, Big L, Nas, Kool G Rap, and Wu Tang, reminds us that the bleakest times produce the most profound agents of cultural change. And as we stand at the precipice of a new age of anxiety, Enta Da Stage has never been more relevant… or more necessary.
Although Black Moon would go on to release three more albums – and its members would go on to greatness with Da Beatminerz, Boot Camp Klik, and various solo projects – Enta Da Stage remains the perfect distillation of tight lyrical menace, rowdy crew hooks, stripped down breaks, and deep basslines on all of its fourteen tracks. Although Enta Da Stage might stand in the shadow of East Coast albums such as Enter the WuTang (36 Chambers), Illmatic, Liquid Swords, Ready to Die, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, and The Infamous, history will remember that Enta Da Stage
preceded those releases. To understand Enta Da Stage is to understand the origin and the spirit of New York hip-hop once and for all.

1. Powaful Impak!
2. Niguz Talk Shit
3. Who Got Da Props (Evil Dee Mix)
4. Ack Like U Want It
5. Buck Em Down
6. Black Smif-n-Wessun
7. Son Get Wrec
8. Make Munne
9. Slave
10. I Got Cha Opin
11. Shit Iz Real
12. Enta Da Stage
13. How Many MC’s
14. U Da Man

• 2017 remastered edition on double LP
• Although commercially overshadowed in a crowded 1993 release schedule that included Enter the Wu Tang, Midnight Marauders, and Doggystyle, Enta Da Stage is now considered not only a forebear to its more famous counterparts but also equal, if not superior, in the ranks of all-time greatest albums. MC’s Buckshot and 5 Ft. shine on the mic, exuding supreme confdence through their brash delivery and charisma, while on the musical side, DJ Evil Dee and Mr. Walt make their mark with their distinctively jazzy yet grimy lo-f production as Da Beatminerz
• Making their production debut with Enta Da Stage, Da Beatminerz went on to produce the equally classic debuts from Boot Camp Clik members Smif-N-Wessun, Heltah Skeltah, & O.G.C. with Dah Shinin’, Nocturnal & Da Storm, solidifying themselves as one the preeminent production teams of the era Available from 06.10.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung