Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Sep 22 2017 | 03:12
Image: 1612038 Tramp's Feeling Nice series has positioned itself as a universally accepted essential cultural and historical document of some of the greatest unknown local vernacular American Black music of the sixties and seventies. The Feeling Nice series has been dedicated to filling in the blanks between the more well known cuts of so-called Deep Funk canon and drawing out the relationships and stories behind and between the tunes and the artists, and ultimately creating a dialogue that serves to enlighten and enliven a true anti-racist discussion of American Popular music specifically and of Global human music in general. With Feeling Nice Vol. 4, Tramp continues this important conversation, and having spent over 700 days unearthing a rousing selection across the board, offers it to you, now, as a double LP with full-color label scans, never before seen promo shots, and detailed biographical information - in some cases in the words of the artists themselves!

Believe me when I tell you, Feeling Nice 4 has got it all: Brilliant B-sides: (Donald Ray - "Strut Your Stuff"), Concealed covers: (Combined Forces - "Feelin' Alright"), Tittyshakers: (Big Bear Revue - "Big Bear"), Dance crazes: (Donnie Sanders - "Shing-A-Ling Baby, Mr. Clean & The Cleansers - "Karate"), Obscure cuts by well known R&B stars: (Frederick Knight - "Steppin Down"), Retro German rave-ups: (Take 5+2 - "Get Your Love"), Weirdo deep funk one-offs: (Moony Moon - "Walking On The Moon"), Killers from the Caribbean: (Al Sinclair - "No That Ain't Groovy), Basement Jams: (TNT Powerhouse - "Basement Jam"), Most talked-about new discoveries: (Living Funk - "Silver Black Summer Day"), and more and more and more...

As a special incentive for you to be first in line for this freakishly fantastic funk feast, Tramp Records will include a special BONUS 45 of an unpressed acetate of "I FEEL A GROOVE COMIN' ON" by "SOUTH SIDE" with the first 400 copies of Feeling Nice Vol. 4.

- Lucky Brown, 2017

Key selling points:
- all but one song get re-issued for the very first time
- the double gatefold vinyl LP contains detailed liner notes and unseen photographs
- the vinyl LP comes with a full album download code
- incl. 2 previously unreleased tracks

1. Combined Forces - Feeling Alright
2. Big Bear Revue - Big Bear
3. Donnie Sanders & The Don Juans - Shing-A-Ling Baby
4. Mr. Clean & The Cleansers - Karate
5. Frederick Knight - Steppin' Down
6. Donald Ray & His Revue - Strut Your Stuff
7. Little Ceasar & The Euterpeans - It Ain't What You Do
8. Harold Andrews & The Sha-Bangs - The Swimming Monkey
9. Take 5+2 - Get Your Love
10. Moony Moon - What About Mars
11. Al Sinclair - No That Ain't Groovy
12. Jim Pipkin & The Boss Five - Walkin' The Duck
13. TNT Powerhouse - Basement Jam [clip]
14. The NT Band - Good Foot
15. Living Funk - Silver Black Summer Day
16. George E. Johnson - Wake Me Up
17. South Side - I Feel A Groove Comin' On

Available from 24.11.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung