Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jul 27 2017 | 08:27
Image: 1611154
Rooted in Colombia and based in New York, Combo Chimbita lives in
the future. Powerhouse vocalist Carolina Oliveros, synth and bassist
Prince of Queens, guitarist Niño Lento, and drummer Dilemastronauta
began experimenting with different traditional musical styles during late-
night residencies at Barbès in Brooklyn. Exploring Afro-Caribbean styles
through improvisational long-form trips, Combo Chimbita came together
as a four-piece band after they started encouraging more vocals by
Oliveros, who tightens the rhythm with her guacharaca. “Her voice is so
powerful that it leads us in that direction,” says Prince of Queens.
The band draws on “traditional music from everywhere: Panama,
Caribbean, Colombia, tamboritos, ‘70s funaná from Cape Verde,
kompa from Haiti, cumbia, dub and reggae from Jamaica. We try to
incorporate it in a way that if feels ours, so you hear these influences
there but they come from our background, and our background is heavy
rock, psychedelic funk and soul,” says guitarist Niño Lento. As Prince of
Queens puts it: “Combo Chimbita is like a comeback to that raw punk
energy, back to where it all started for me. But then obviously with the
elements that we’ve grown to love and appreciate: the African diaspora
and Caribbean and South America.”

• Album premiere on The FADER & press includes Afropop, Sounds & Colours, Time Out, Remezcla, Univision, WFMU
• First edition vinyl limited to 500 copies worldwide
• Band members also part of M.A.K.U Soundsystem, Bulla en el Barrio & Names You Can Trust releases
• Artwork & videos by Colombian artists Goske Rojo & Hugo Oro
• Numerous shows & residencies around NYC
• “No Regreso” mixed by Beyoncé engineer Stuart White

1. Dame tu Mano
2. No Regreso
3. Pachanga
4. Cachimba
5. Ampárame
6. La Raiz
7. Congo
8. Luz Available from 13.10.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung