Recent posts

Perez – Cavernes
Jan 16, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jul 14 2017 | 08:15
Image: 1553486 Strut present a new repress of Mulatu Astatke’s comeback studio album from 2010, ‘Mulatu Steps Ahead’


A1. Radcliffe
A2. Green Africa
B1. The Way To Nice
B2. Assosa
B3. I Faram Gami I Faram
C1. Mulatu’S Mood
C2. Ethio Blues
D1. Boogaloo
D2. Motherland

Strut present a new repress of Mulatu Astatke’s comeback studio album from 2010, ‘Mulatu Steps Ahead’. Following his acclaimed collaboration on Strut with The Heliocentrics, the Father of Ethio jazz began to explore new directions in fusions of Western jazz with Ethiopian modes, moving forward the pioneering sound he developed during the ‘60s and ‘70s. For this album, tracks were recorded with members of Either/Orchestra in Boston, with contributions by traditional Ethiopian musicians in Addis, members of The Heliocentrics and some of the UK’s leading jazz and African players during the final sessions in London in November 2009.
Each track on the album tells its own story. The reflective, meandering opener, Radcliffe, was composed specifically for the Radcliffe Institute during Mulatu’s time lecturing at Harvard in Boston – the original score is now framed on the wall there. The Way To Nice was written and arranged
on the tour bus during Mulatu’s recent French dates – “with this track, you are travelling on a long journey, talking and thinking” explains Mulatu. “It was inspired by the many beautiful places on the coast road around Nice.” Assosa adapts traditional music from the Assosa tribes in NorthWestern Ethiopia and Mulatu’s Mood re-works a Mulatu jazz fusion composition from the early ‘90s into a new swinging Afro highlife arrangement. “I wanted to use West African styles within this version and try new ways of using the beautiful sound of the kora.” Boogaloo and I Faram Gami I Faram reprise Mulatu classics with new, fuller scores.
The album continued to rejuvenate Mulatu’s career and led to major worldwide tour dates, which have continued until today. He will be touring with his Steps Ahead band throughout 2017.

- new reissue of the first internationally released album by Ethio jazz legend from March 2010 and first new studio album in over 10 years.
- includes new versions of Mulatu classics ‘I Faram Gami I Faram’ and ‘Boogaloo’ alongside new compositions
- Unavailable on 2LP for over four years
- Mulatu continuing to tour with his Steps Ahead band throughout 2017

Ethiopiques series, Getatchew Mekurya, Mahmoud Ahmed, Milt Jackson, Roy Ayers, Nas, Damien Marley, Gilles Peterson, Broken Flowers film, Jim Jarmusch, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Tilahun Gessesse, Ethio jazz Available from 21.07.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung