Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, May 19 2017 | 07:09
Image: 501434 Repressed! Produced by Malcolm Catto, Mike Burnham & Jake Ferguson / Four years in the making, The Heliocentrics' debut album is finally complete. Out There is here. Good luck trying to categorize their music. Led by the relentless drummer Malcolm Catto, the UK collective's objective lays quite a ways beyond what ordinary listeners know or expect. In an alternative galaxy, where the orbits of Hip-Hop, Funk, Jazz, Psychedelic, Electronic, Avante-Garde and Ethnic music all revolve around “The One” – that's where you might find The Heliocentrics. A listen to a song or two reveals no small influence from the funk universe of James Brown. But there's also the disorienting asymmetry of Sun Ra's music. The cinematic scope of Ennio Morricone. The sublime fusion of David Axelrod. But the Heliocentrics' music isn't retro. It's brand new. And it's timeless. They have well-placed fans in the likes of Madlib (Catto was featured on his Shades of Blue album and on various Yesterdays New Quintet releases) and DJ Shadow (the band backed him on various tours, and on the song “This Time I’m Gonna Do It My Way” from his The Outsider album), who will tell you that this band is really the next shit but that they have the consistency and musicianship that seems to have been lost somewhere in the analog to digital shuffle over the past thirty years. The Heliocentrics are the real deal. They are “Out There” in the best possible sense of the word. Dig it.

A1. Intro 0:39
A2. Distant Star 5:01
A3. Flight 583 0:13
A4. Once Upon A Time 2:43
A5. Beyond Repair 0:55
A6. Sirius B 5:09
A7. Untitled 2:41
B1. They Are Among Us - Part 1 0:39
B2. The Zero Hour 4:19
B3. Joyride 5:11
B4. The American Empire 3:19
C1. Before I Die 3:37
C2. Intermission 1:35
C3. Age Of The Sun 4:13
C4. They Are Among Us - Part 2 0:34
C5. Winter Song 4:55
C6. A World Of Masks 4:33
D1. Sounds Of The East 1:32
D2. Somewhere Out There 1:25
D3. Second Chance (K2’s Prayer) 5:26
D4. Return Journey 0:20
D5. Sirius A 3:29
D6. Falling To Earth 5:26
D7. Outro 0:36 Available from 09.06.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung