Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Saturday, Apr 29 2017 | 06:42
Image: 1609956 Running a record label offers adiversified and challenging field of activity. This is particularly true when speaking of tiny independent re-issue labels where one, two or three guys have to take care of everything. Tracking down musicians, collecting their stories, writing the liner notes, creating the cover artwork, mastering the songs, promoting the release, communicating with pressing plants and distributors, and so on. Most of the tasks mean fun with the exception of one thing which nobody here at Tramp is keen on doing: writing the sales notes.

Far be it from us to praise our release to the skies. Naturally, we are pretty much convinced of the sheer quality of each song, otherwise we would not have invested so much time and efforts into completing those compilation albums. One thing which surprises us is that despite thousands of Rare Groove compilations on the market neither of the songs to be found here has been compiled elsewhere yet. A fact that not only fills us with pride but also determines our claim for the future. As for now we have done our homework and it is time to let the music speak so that the Gunn High School Jazz Reunion, Keither Florence, Robert Cote, Plas Johnson, Charlie Chisholm Boss-tet, and all the others get the recognition they so richly deserve for their talent and work.

When Tramp opened its doors in the early 2000s it was just for the fun of it. A business plan did not exist and nobody involved with the label had studied anything music related. It was just a bunch of crazy record collectors and music lovers with a simple idea: to share their favourite music with the world. Nobody could have known that this would last for 15 years - and there is no end in sight.

Key selling points:
- all songs appear on CD/digital for the very first time
- the vinyl LP comes with a full album download code
- 12-page CD-booklet and vinyl LP contain detailed liner notes and unseen photographs

1. Gunn High School Jazz Reunion - Red Clay
2. Gate - Chocolate Puddin'
3. Keither Florence - Down Here On The Ground
4. Robert Cote with Orange Lake Drive - Move On
5. Scott Cunningham Band - Anita
6. Plas Johnson - Buck Dance
7. Magic - Sunshine
8. Charlie Chisholm Boss-tet - Wade In The Water
9. David Lee Jones Trio - Walk With Me
10. Al Walton Trio - Al's Thing
11. Ulysses Crockett - Funky Resurgence
12. John Wesley Dickson Band - Barrows Blues
13. San Francisco Committee - Never Before
14. Tim James - Strange Things
15. Randy Larkin - Empty Days
16. Anything Goes - When She's Gone
Available from 16.06.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung