Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 14 2017 | 03:20
Image: 1609512 ‘Voyager’ is the third full-length album from LA’s Moonchild, whose candid style of soul and new-school jazz has propelled them onto a swirling, emotionally charged journey of the heart. Since 2014 they have dedicated their time and energy into honing dreamlike and ethereal compositions which explore the intricacies of relationships with emotional nuance. The band cites influences like D’Angelo, Hiatus Kaiyote and J. Most as playing a key part in expanding the group's musical horizons which none more evident than on ‘Voyager’.
Following two years after their widely-praised album ‘Please Rewind’, the album marks a new level of maturity in the band’s sound. Building on their trademark sound, the band brought in a harpist and string players to their usual line-up, enriching standout motifs, these range from the importance of making time for loved ones, to the feeling of waking up in the middle of the night and missing someone, to the deep bonds shared between mother and child.
“We feel like we progress and get better with each album and we’re really excited to put this out.” Andris enthuses. The chilled out grooves and soul-filled vocals of their previous work have been refined, creating a sound that is distinctive in sound and feel.
Since cementing themselves into the vibrant LA soul scene, Moonchild have released two albums and collaborated or toured with highly-respected names in the soul-jazz crowd including Stevie Wonder, Jill Scott, India.Arie, Leela James, The Internet (Odd Future’s Syd tha Kyd & Matt Martians) and more. Along the way, Moonchild have accumulated a host of iconic supporters from Robert Glasper and Laura Mvula to James Poyser, Jazzy Jeff, Jose James, 9th Wonder and Tyler, The Creator who have all shown love for the band.

Key Marketing Points:
- Extensive US Tour in support of the album (dates TBA).
- Early radio support from Gilles Peterson (BBC 6Music), Huey Morgan (BBC 6Music), and Jamie Cullum (BBC R2).
- Last single featured an extremely successful remix from Jazzy Jeff and James Poyser (The Roots).
- Collaborated or toured with Stevie Wonder, Jill Scott & The Internet
-“The Truth” has an impressive 1.5+ million streams on Spotify.
- Previously KCRW’s ‘Today’s Top Tune’ with “Don’t Wake Me”.
- “Cure” video by Meeno Peluce, who’s previously shot Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Courtney Love & Pharrell Williams.

“The magnificent Moonchild… good work” – GILLES PETERSON
“Yet another stellar piece”– SAINT HERON
“A beautiful mixture of jazz and R&B…
the sound of LA these days” – JAMIE CULLUM

1. Voyager (Intro)
2. Cure
3. 6am
4. Every Part (For Linda)
5. Hideaway
6. The List
7. Doors Closing
8. Run Away
9. Think Back
10. Now And Then
11. Change Your Mind
12. Show The Way
13. Let You Go
Available from 26.05.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung