Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Apr 12 2017 | 06:18
Image: 1609703 The mark that the late producer J Dilla left upon hip-hop during the 90s and early-to-mid
00s is undeniable, and his work with De La Soul, Busta Rhymes, The Pharcyde, and
many more has long been cemented in the annals of hip-hop history. It was during his
time as a member of seminal Detroit group Slum Village however that ranks as among
his greatest. His work with rappers Baatin and T3 would be a strong influence upon
modern rappers like Kanye West and Kendrick Lamar, and earn widespread critical
praise, and comparisons to other legendary groups like A Tribe Called Quest. In
speaking retrospectively on their most famous album "Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1", The Roots'
drummer Questlove has said of the release that it "single-handedly birthed neo-soul."
J Dilla has been gone for over 10 years now, and Slum Village has moved on from their
time with the legendary beatsmith, recruiting new members along the way. Despite this,
new Dilla compositions are still being discovered, and his legacy continues to be shared
and celebrated with a modern hip-hop audience. Ne'Astra Music Group now presents a
new compilation of rare Dilla material: Vol. 0. Ten tracks featuring the classic Slum
Village lineup of Dilla on vocals and production, with Baatin & T3 also on the mic,
collected by modern SV member Young RJ from unreleased material and demos
recorded between 1994 and 1997. The knowledgable hip-hop head may recognize key
tracks from the circulated EPHCY Sessions, while others have never seen the light of
day. A piece of hip-hop history that would have otherwise wallowed in
obscurity, until now.

A1 - 2U 4U
A2 - And I Go
A3 - Fly Girl 1
A4 - Fly girl 2
A5 - Jay Dee (Freestyle)
B1 - My Loot (Freestyle)
B2 - Ooo Wee
B3 - Sensation
B4 - Sentimental Love
B5 - Yum Yum Available from 05.05.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung