Recent posts

Grotto – At Last
Apr 21, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 07 2017 | 03:12
Image: 1609331 The ultimate edition of the Roots Reggae masterpiece release 1977-2017!

The album classic was originally issued in 1977 in Jamaica only and 20 years later in 1997 released by the Blood & Fire label as the outstanding but now deleted "Heart Of The Congos". VP Records' sub-label 17 North Parade release now the definitive 2017 re-mastered 3CD / 3LP deluxe edition put together with both respect and gratitude to that illustrious antecedent.

This new 3 disc-set and 3LP-Vinyl-set is the first to feature the now almost impossible to find, original mix of the album, unavailable since producer Lee Perry withdrew the set in 1977 following the refusal of Chris Blackwell's Island Records team to licence the album (Disc 3), together with the more well-known mix, dubs, disco mixes, seven and twelve inch versions and "Don’t Blame It On I" an overlooked previously unreleased track unearthed (Disc 2) and the 'Blood & Fire' Kevin Metcalfe master (Disc 1). The "40th Anniversary Edition" is a available as 3CD in a 6-panel digipak with 16 page illustrated booklet & liner notes, and also as 3LP-Vinyl in a 6mm spine jacket sleeve with full colour printed illustrated inner sleeves and the liner notes by Noel Hawks.

1. Fisherman
2. Congoman
3. Open Up The Gate
4. Children Crying
5. La La Bam-Bam
6. Can’t Come In
7. Sodom And Gomorrow
8. The Wrong Thing
9. Ark Of The Covenant
10. Solid Foundation
1. Don’t Blame It On I
2. At The Feast
3. Neckodeemus
4. Solid Foundation (Disco Cork Mix)
5. Foundation Dub
6. Congoman (12Inch Mix)
7. Congoman Chant
8. Bring The Mackaback
9. Fisherman Dub
10. Noah Sugar Pan
1. Fisherman (Original Mix)
2. Congoman (Original Mix)
3. Open Up The Gate (Original Mix)
4. Children Crying (Original Mix)
5. La La Bam-Bam (Original Mix)
6. Can’t Come In (Original Mix)
7. Sodom And Gomorrow (Original Mix)
8. The Wrong Thing (Original Mix)
9. Ark Of The Covenant (Original Mix)
10. Solid Foundation (Original Mix)

Side One
A1. Fisherman
A2. Congoman
A3. Open Up The Gate
A4. Children Crying
A5. La La Bam-Bam
Side Two
B1. Can’t Come In
B2. Sodom And Gomorrow
B3. The Wrong Thing
B4. Ark Of The Covenant
B5. Solid Foundation
Side Three
C1. Don’t Blame It On I
C2. At The Feast
C3. Neckodeemus
C4. Solid Foundation (Disco Cork Mix)
C5. Foundation Dub
Side Four
D1. Congoman (12Inch Mix)
D2. Congoman Chant
D3. Bring The Mackaback
D4. Fisherman Dub
D5. Noah Sugar Pan
Side Five
E1. Fisherman (Original Mix)
E2. Congoman (Original Mix)
E3. Open Up The Gate (Original Mix)
E4. Children Crying (Original Mix)
E5. La La Bam-Bam (Original Mix)
Side Six
F1. Can’t Come In (Original Mix)
F2. Sodom And Gomorrow (Original Mix)
F3. The Wrong Thing (Original Mix)
F4. Ark Of The Covenant (Original Mix)
F5. Solid Foundation (Original Mix)

Bass: Boris Gardiner, Geoffrey Chung (Track 1), Winston 'Brubeck' Wright (Track 2)
Drums: Mikey 'Boo' Richards, Lowell 'Sly' Dunbar, Paul Douglas (Track 1)
Lead Guitar: Ernest Ranglin
Rhythm Guitar: Robert 'Billy' Johnson
Organ: Winston 'Brubeck' Wright
Piano: Keith Stewart
Percussion: Lee Perry, Noel 'Skully' Simms, Uziah 'Sticky' Thompson
Backing Vocals: Watty 'King' Burnett, The Meditations, Candy McKenzie (Track 4), Barry Llewellyn, Earl Morgan, Gregory Isaacs (all Track 5)
Written by Cedric Myton, Roydel Johnson, Lee Perry
Produced by Lee 'Scratch' Perry and The Congos
Recorded in The Black Ark

Print advertising: Reggae Vibes (FR), Echoes (GB), Riddim (DE/AT/CH), Piranha (DE)
Web banner: (BE), Vibes FM (GB) (both 4-weeks commencing week of release)
Social media: Facebook campaign commencing week of release.
Reviews / interviews targeted in print media: Songlines Magazine (GB), Echoes (GB), MOJO (GB), Guardian Newspaper (GB), Reggae Vibes (FR), Q Magazine (GB), Piranha Magazine (DE), The Voice (GB), The Wire (GB), Riddim Magazine (DE/AT/CH).
Online media: Party Time (FR), Reggaemani (SE), (DK), Hot MC (IT) / Reggaeville (WORLDWIDE) / Reggae Portugal (PT) / (BE) / (NL) / World A Reggae (NL).
Radio / Specialized shows: BBC 1Xtra David Rodigan / BBC Radio Lancashire / BBC Radio Leicester / BBC Radio 6 / BBC Radio Bristol /Black Echoes (Dublin) / BCFM (Bristol) / Colourful Radio (London) / Conscious Radio (London) / Mi-Soul (London) / Mouv’ (France) / New Style (Birmingham) / Peace FM (Manchester) / RTS Radio (Switzerland) / Ujima Radio (Bristol) / Kemet Radio (Nottingham) / Soho Radio (London)
Social media: (Facebook, Twitter, Shazam, Instagram, iTunes) commencing week of release. Available from 19.05.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung