Friday, Feb 10 2017 | 03:54
Image: 1607846 Next year is 20 years of Jazzanova so first up on the celebration plate is a complete collection of their world famous remixes.

A1. Malika Ayane – Dimentica Domani (Jazzanova Remix Dub)
A2. Joe Bataan – Ordinary Guy (Jazzanova Rework Extended Version)
A3. Heritage Orchestra – Skybreaks (Jazzanova Remix)
B1. Furry Phreaks with Terra Deva - All Over The World (Jazzanova Mix)
B2. Spinning Motion – Naze (Jazzanova Remix)
C1. Paul Randolph – Believer (Jazzanova Remix)
C2. Atjazz feat. Dawne B – Parallels (Jazzanova Serial Remix)
D1. Outlines – Listen To The Drums (Jazzanova Remix)
D2. Hugh Masekela – Stimela (Jazzanova Remix)

This release heralds the start of the 20th anniversary of Jazzanova as internationally
renowned remixers. That is to say, it was in the summer of 1997 when the very first remix by
Jazzanova was released, the one for United Future Organization's „Friends... We'll Be“ on Gilles
Peterson's founded label Talkin’ Loud. Said remix can be found on the first edition of the by
now accumulated to a trilogy compilation series. When the first part covers the early, yeasty
years from 1997 to 2000, the second episode pays tribute to the years from 2002 to 2005 and
the third sequel takes the last few years, the lapse of time from 2006 to 2016 to task. This
decade as well was – as you can hear strongly by listening to this long player – a very
prosperous, inspiring productive period for Jazzanova.
How fast time flies is displayed by these nine selected tracks from the last ten years. All of
them still sound as if they have been released just yesterday. Starting with the remix of
“Listen To The Drums” by Outlines, which evolved into a worldwide club hit over the years,
also thanks to the edit by Dixon. Most remarkably this work is already ten years old! The
remixes of Furry Phreaks' „All Over The World“ and Heritage Orchestra's „Skybreaks“ also
doesn't really sound like two tunes from 2007. Au contraire, this is the trademark sound of
Jazzanova carving itself genre-spanning into eternity. Or who would dare to not declare the
2009 remix for Atjazz' „Parallels“ as an modern day dance floor classic? And with the
reworks of tracks by Hugh Masekela („Stimela“) and Joe Bataan („Ordinary Guy“) we have two
actual funk/soul evergreens featured on this compilation's wonderful third edition. A must is
obviously the inclusion of the remix for “Believer” by Paul Randolph from 2007. It was this
remix that was somehow the start of longterm relationship that culminated in Paul
becoming the steady guest singer of Jazzanova and with whom they’re touring worldwide
since 2009. To top „Jazzanova – The Remixes 2006-2016“ off there's the rework of the
forgotten, but recently re-issued by Notes On A Journey Spinning Motion's “Naze”. Available from 24.03.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung