Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Jan 03 2017 | 11:53
Image: 1608007 John Legend and The Roots recorded ”Wake Up!” during the time of the 2008 United States presidential election. In addition to The Roots, John Legend and Black Thought, the album features guest appearances from vocalists Common, C.L. Smooth, Melanie Fiona, and Malik Yusef. ”Wake Up!” is comprised of covers of soul songs from the 1960s and 1970s containing socially active themes. The ”Wake Up!” project sees John Legend and The Roots putting their distinct touch on classics from the likes of Marvin Gaye, Nina Simone, Donny Hathaway, the Teddy Pendergrass-led Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, and more.

• Limited edition: 1,500 units on Orange vinyl
• First reissue since original 2010 release
• 2010 Grammy Award for Best R&B Album
• Album Producers: Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, James Poyser, and John Legend

1. Hard Times (featuring Black Thought)
2. Compared to What
3. Wake Up Everybody (featuring Common and Melanie Fiona)
4. Our Generation (The Hope of the World) (featuring CL Smooth)
5. Little Ghetto Boy (Prelude) (featuring Malik Yusef)
6. Little Ghetto Boy (featuring Black Thought)
7. Hang on in There
8. Humanity (Love the Way It Should Be)
9. Wholy Holy
10. I Can’t Write Left Handed
11. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
12. Shine Available from 20.01.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung