Friday, Dec 23 2016 | 05:39
Image: 1607754 Having anthologized his ‘60s songbook with 1976’s overdue long-player Positive-Negative, Grand Rapids, Michigan’s Tommy McGee was eager to place something more modern into the marketplace. Brass at Brunswick and MCA failed to hear a hit in McGee’s sultry-yet-assured delivery of “Now That I Have You.” Unable to find a home for the romantic anthem, McGee issued his 2-step masterpiece on his own TMG Records in 1981. McGee would revisit the composition later in the decade, dressing the tune with drum machines and synthesizers for a run of 12-inch singles. However, this 45-only version from 1976 captures the progressive soul stepper at its most organic.

1. Now That I Have You
2. Stay With Me Available from 24.02.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung