Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Dec 16 2016 | 02:30
Image: 1607671 The long established and critically acclaimed DJ-Kicks series kicks off 2017 with suitably accomplished DJ, producer, vocalist and instrumenta- list Matthew Dear at the helm.

01 Nils Frahm - Ode
02 Matthew Dear - Wrong With Us (DJ-Kicks)
03 Mahal - Ongaku (HVL Remix)
04 Monsieur Georget - Double Lune
(Third Child Boomer Mix)
05 Kreon - Silo Sol
06 Caserta - Ricky (Thatmanmonkz Remix)
07 Gwilym Gold x Doc Daneeka - Lust For Sale (MGF Mix)
08 Smoke - Nuutri
09 Decius - Bread & Butter
10 Italojohnson - ITJ10B1
11 Vin Sol - Instinct (Matrixxman Remix)
12 Groovesh - Glowing
13 Duff Disco - Feed The Horse
14 Dudley Strangeways - Hallam
15 Alex & Digby - Angolan Rumble
16 Gary Sloan & Clone - Harmonitalk (Alex & Digby Edit)
17 Randomer - Rendell Pips
18 Markus Enochson - Hot Juice Box
19 Simian Mobile Disco - Staring At All This Handle
20 Pearson Sound - XLB
21 Soulphiction - Sky So High
22 Audion - Live Breakdown
23 Audion - Starfucker
24 Audion - Brines
25 DJ Khalab & Baba Sissoko - Kumu

• Includes 3 exclusive tracks Matthew Dear 'Wrong With Us', Audion 'Live Breakdown' and Audio 'Brines'

The long established and critically acclaimed DJ-Kicks series kicks off
2017 with suitably accomplished DJ, producer, vocalist and instrumentalist
Matthew Dear at the helm.
A man of many musical hats, Texas born, Detroit raised Dear has a wide
reaching discography that takes in face melting techno as Jabberjaw,
dark avant-pop under his own name and intricate minimal as Audion.
Often with a gothic slant and full of curiousness, his pensive but playful
music is an intoxicating distillation of many different influences, often with
his own stylised vocals at the centre.
As co-founder of both Ghostly International and Spectral Sound Dear has
also been responsible for some of the underground scene’s most exciting
new music, plenty of which appears here. Now more than 15 years, five
albums and 20 EPs into his esteemed and always evolving career, Dear is
exactly the sort of fascinating character that makes the very personal
DJ-Kicks series so special.
Included along the way are three brand new and exclusive cuts from Dear
himself, one under his own name and two as Audion. They are typically
weird and intriguing cuts that tie the whole unhinged and freaky mix
together. Also helping to add to the left-of-centre afterparty vibe are
inclusions by artists as diverse as Thatmanmonkz and Matrixxmann,
ItaloJohnson and Pearson Sound, Randomer and Simian Mobile Disco.
Wholly timeless yet totally of its time, this is the first new work from Dear in
a while. Once again, though, it proves that he is a master of subversion,
someone who can head down a brain frying techno warren then effortlessly
onto raw machine grooves via left of centre synth ditties and kaleidoscopic
house music. In his considered hands, they all make perfect sense. Available from 27.01.2017
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung