Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Nov 28 2016 | 13:17 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

The Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club Vol.4I can hardly believe the very first edition of the Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club came out in 2012 – much time has passed, but my mission remains the same – to give you lucky lucky people another hard hitting selection – a crafty musical right hook, another fist full of funky things – and this new collection packs a hell of a punch!

For Volume 4 – we open up with 3 disco tinged bangers, Kylie Auldists’ Family Tree will transport you directly onto the dance-floor of New York’s legendary Studio 54 discotheque – Smoove & Turrell’s cover of Hot Chocolates’ You Could Have Been A Lady’ has got that Newcastle boogie oogie oogie vibe down – Lexsoul DanceMachine have marinated Beef Grinder in sizzling hi hat cymbals and a spicy clav riff so saucy Stevie Wonder would be shocked!

Add into the mix 3 classics dug from the crates – one from Brian Auger, one of the best Hammond organ players ever, one intensely catchy number from from Ginger Johnson & His African Messengers, and a super rare track from John Heartsman & Circlesthat comes from an album so rare that it has changed hands for $5,000!

Mix in a crop of contemporary funk, soul and latin bangers from acts such as The New Mastersounds, The Tibbs, Lisa Stansfield, Lack Of Afro ft Joss Stone, Sunlightsquare, Marta Ren & The Groovelvets, Flevans, a killer groove from Lance Ferguson’s Black Feeling Vol 3, a 100% exclusive track from The Fantastics! feat Sulene Fleming too, and you’ve got the soundtrack to an instant party on your hands..

So there you have it boys & girls – I give you The Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club Volume 4 – the cream of the current crop, the choicest cuts of my favourite slices of the slinkiest soul, weapons grade funk bombs – it does exactly what it says on the tin … and then some. Craig Charles.


01. Kylie Auldist – Family Tree
02. Smoove & Turrell – You Could Have Been a Lady
03. Lex Soul DanceMachine – Beef Grinder
04. The Manuel Azevedo Quartet – Futebol de bar
05. Marta Ren & The Groovelvets – Release Me
06. The Traffic – White Lines
07. Lack of Afro – Take You Home (feat. Joss Stone)
08. Flevans – Reach Out
09. Brian Auger & The Trinity – Black Cat
10. Lisa Stansfield – The Rain
11. The Fantastics! – Hey Mister! (feat. Sulene Fleming)
12. Ginger Johnson and His African Messengers – I Jool Omo
13. Sunlightsquare – Taj Mahal (feat. Josue Ferreira)
14. Joe Tatton Trio – Bang Bang Boogaloo
15. John Heartsman & Circles – Talking About My Baby
16. The Tibbs – Next Time
17. The New Mastersounds – In the Middle
18. Fulton Street – Young People
19. The Telmo Fernandez Trio – I Can’t Get Satisfied

The compilation VariousThe Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club Vol.4” (Freestyle Records) is going to be released December 16, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung