Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Nov 25 2016 | 01:59
Image: 1606568 Hot off collaborations with Nottz (Titans in the Flesh EP) and
Madlib (Bad Neighbor LP), SoCal ambassador Blu has teamed
up with the Paris-based production team Union Analogtronics (OJ
& Gold) to unleash a new full length album: Cheetah in the City.
Featuring Dam-Funk, Phat Kat, Frank N Dank, and more, the album
signifies a stylistic sea change for Blu, best known for his dusty,
soul sampling collaborations with Exile (Below the Heavens) and his
own introspective opuses (Her Favorite Colour, Good to be Home,
York!). Rippling with 808s and cinematic strings, Cheetah in the
City is an organic evolution from the synth-soaked, futuristic sound
of Analogtronics, UNION’s 2012 Fat Beats Records debut album
featuring Talib Kweli, MF DOOM, Elzhi, Guilty Simpson, and more.
After mutual friends put them in touch at a Parisian post-show
after-party, Blu and Union began a musical exchange that spanned
continents. Blu returned to LA with UNION’s best beats, and after
months of exchanging lyrical ideas, the trio regrouped for marathon
recording sessions in UNION’s Paris-based studio. Cloistered for
weeks with nothing but drum machines, instruments, keyboards,
records, and France’s best bud, Blu became obsessed with infusing
his kicked back Southern California sensibilities into UNION’s
penchant for pushing the possibilities of technicality into multilayered, densely packed productions. A cohesive story emerged in
the songwriting: a young man, raised amongst deadbeats, killers,
and hard drugs, metamorphoses into the Cheetah, a money-making
predator whose quick talk and cold hustle make him the king of a city
that will eventually consume him, heart and soul.
We’ve never heard Blu like this.

1. LA Counting
2. Whatever
3. Weekends
4. Sleepin’
5. Workin’ feat. Joro
6. Sunny
7. French Kiss feat. Chat
8. One Two
9. Don’t Trip feat. Dam Funk
10. Lynx feat. Frank N Dank & Ph
11. City Dreams feat. Olivier Day
12. Cheetah
13. The Factory feat. Erik Riko

• Blu is a heralded west coast Emcee, most notable for his work
with Exile (Below The Heavens, Give Me My Flowers...)
• Features include Dam-Funk, Phat Kat and Frank N Dank
• Full US (Synergy Works) and France (Ping Pong) PR
• Video for lead single: LA COUNTING (directed by Ruff Mercy) Available from 02.12.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung