Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Nov 18 2016 | 16:48 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Keith Hudson“Pick A Dub” showcased the enduring strength and pivotal importance of the rhythm to the development of reggae music. Keith Hudson’s complete mastery of the genre and the unqualified praise that followed its release was fully justified. The album’s ‘austere sonic qualities’ are awe inspiring, the superb rhythms are given full rein, unencumbered by extra effects and studio trickery. The overall effect is as mesmerising now as it was over forty years ago. The CD comes in a digipak with additional 12-page booklet and contains as extra tracks eight vocal cuts of the featured dubs including two previously unreleased tracks. As well the 2LP-set is extended to 20 tracks, the original album on side A and B, side C and D have the extra tracks of vocal cuts of the dubs including two previously unreleased ones.

– Musicians include the Soul Syndicate session band, plus Aston Barrett (Bass), Calton Barrett (Drums), Earl “Chinna” Smith (Guitar), Augustus Pablo (Melodica)
– Recorded and mixed at Harry J Studios, Kingston, Jamaica 1973-1974
– Produced by Keith Hudson and Aston “Family Man” Barrett

“The greatest dub album ever” – Jon Savage (author of England’s Dreaming)
“Essential” – Steve Barrow & Peter Dalton (Rough Guide To Reggae)

Tracklisting (CD):

01. Pick A Dub
02. Black Heart
03. Michael Talbot Affair
04. Don’t Move
05. Blood Brother
06. Dreader Than
07. In The Rain
08. Part 1-2 Dubwise
09. Black Right
10. Satia
11. I’m Alright
12. Depth Charge
13. Fat Baby (Augustus Pablo)
14. Fight On Fight On
15. Addis Ababa Place In Africa (Delroy Wilson)
16. Be Still
17. Wild Fire
18. In The Rain
19. Don’t Think About Me (Horace Andy)
20. Still Water

The album Keith HudsonPick A Dub (Expanded CD/Original Artwork Edition)” (17 North Parade) is going to be released December 2, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung