Thursday, Nov 17 2016 | 07:47
Image: 1607462 The Western world was in the throes of peace, love and flower power as Nigeria
descended into Civil War in 1967. The rock scene that developed during the
following three years of bloodshed and destruction would come to heal the
country, propagate the world-wide ideal of the Modern Nigerian, and propel
Fela to stardom after conflict ended in 1970.
Wake Up You! tells the story of this time, pays homage to these now-forgotten
musicians and their struggle, and brings to light the funk and psychedelic fury
they created as they wrested free of the ravages of the late 1960s and created
thrilling, original Nigerian rock music throughout the 1970s.

A1. Theodore Nemy - Come Back
A2. Funkees - Slipping Into Darkness
A3. Hykkers - I Want A Break Thru
A4. The Hygrades - In The Jungle (Vocal)
B1. Shadow Abraham w/ Monomono Friends - Babalawo
B2. Waves - Wake Up You
B3. War-Head Constriction - Shower Of Stone
B4. Question Mark - Love
B5. Action 13 - Set Me Free
C1. Jay U Experience - Baby Rock
C2. The Doves - Flying Bird
C3. Kukumbas - Awa Lani Arawa
C4. The Believers - Life Will Move
D1. Tony Grey & The Black 7
D2. Ceejebs - Life In Cannan
D3. The Identicals - Who Made The World Available from 09.12.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung