Thursday, Nov 10 2016 | 12:01

BurnskiBurnski is by no means the fresh faced new comer he looks. Despite still being relatively young, he has actually been toiling away, building up an enviable discography and laying down fierce DJ sets for a whole decade and a half. Right from the off he began making a big impact with early releases and has continued to quietly but competently build up momentum ever since. The upshot of this is that he is now at the point where he is a mainstay on the underground scene around Europe and beyond.

The reason he has always stayed in favour is because the music he makes is of an effortlessly timeless nature. He doesn’t follow trends or tropes of the day, but rather he focusses on distilling the Detroit and Chicago heritage he so admires into his own house and techno sounds. Sometimes they are deep, sometimes they are rough, sometimes they are more direct, but always are they characterful things that stand proud of the crowd. As such, whether solo or in collaboration with likeminded producers, he only releases on the most assured labels of the day and has continued to evolve his sound, just like an true musician should.

As a DJ, Burnski aims to mix the old with the new, is still a passionate vinyl hoarder and spends plenty of time digging deep for sounds and styles a mile away from the ordinary: if he didn’t, he wouldn’t be able to boast regular gigs at places like DC10 in Ibiza, fabric in London, Rex Club in Paris and Watergate in Berlin, all of which find him weaving together tracks that make you want to dance as well as making you feel something deep down inside.

In the wake of early, standout career hits (all of which sat pretty atop various charts including RA’s Most Charted for several consecutive months) Burnski is now crafting more stripped back and rawer output. Most of these will be on his own new label project alongside old friend and fellow former Back to Basics resident, Jon Woodall. Entitled Constant Sound, the label has gotten off to an enviable start with the first releases coming backed with powerful remixes from Trus’me of Prime Numbers, Steve O’Sullivan of the Mosaic label, Deadbeat, Nail, Kris Wadsworth and S.A.M.

Burnski Top 10 November 2016:

01. Noha – Hamal (Constant Black)
02. Vincent – Hoshizora (YYY France)
03. Titonton Duvante – Licentious (God Particle)
04. Burnski – DNA LP (Constant Sound)
05. Shaun Reeves – Smile (The Mole) (One Records)
06. Laura Jones – Cohesion (Sensoramic)
07. Franck Roger – Make Me Feel (Home Invasion)
08. Janeret – Kord (Berg Audio)
09. AWOL – 52.511011, 13.443565 (AWOL)
10. Idealist – Firewood Street LP (Idealistmusic)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung