Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Oct 07 2016 | 02:01
Image: 1606406 “It’s really spiritual, fun and funky and sometimes a little crazy, which perfectly captures Bobby Shad. Enjoy.” Judd Apatow

WEWANTSOUNDS is back with FEELING GOOD, a compilation of rare Spiritual Jazz and Funk grooves culled from legendary Producer BOB SHAD’s Mainstream Records. The compilation features insightful sleevenotes by Judd Apatow, Bob Shad’s grandson and was supervised by Matt Robin,(producer of theJazzactuel BYG boxset with Thurston Moore). Alice Clark’s cult classic “Never Did I Stop Loving You” features here alongside many gems uncovered for the first time on this compilation, all remastered from the original tapes.

From working with music Titans such as Charlie Parker and Lightnin’ Hopkins in the 40s, founding the EmArcy jazz label in the 50s and discovering Janis Joplin in the 60s, Bob Shad has had an incredible influence. This handpicked selection gives you a little taster for the diversity of Bob Shad’s Sound from the early 70s when he turned to Deep and soulful Jazz alongside labels like Flying Dutchman and Strata East. Drenched in modal Fender Rhodes keys, spiritual sax and flute solos, deep percussions and funky beats, these albums have slowly been rediscovered by a new generation of DJs, hip hop producers and vinyl junkies all around the world.

From Afrique’s cult classic “House of the Rising Funk” and its funky wah wah frenzy to Hadley Caliman’s deep jazz Flute ode, From one of Clark Terry’s famous Mumbles (Shad produced the original with Oscar Peterson) to Jack Wilkins’ “Red Clay” sampled by both A Tribe Called Quest and Chance the Rapper. A Soul Music lover, Shad also excelled in soul divas and produced Ellerine Harding, Maxine Weldon and of course the mighty Alice Clark, whose original album on Mainstream exchanges hands for around 500$ these days.

To close the compilation in style, Carmen McRae, one of Shad’s long time collaborators, gives a soulful, conga-led version of the classic Feelin’ Good a song made famous by Nina Simone. A superb minimalist version showcasing the unique sound of Bob Shad, a passionate, spirited and fiercely independent record producer who lived for the music.

1 Afrique - House of the Rising Funk
2 Blue mitchell – Soul Village
3 Sarah Vaughan - Magical Connection
4 Art Farmer - Soulsides
1 Shelly Manne - Mask
2 Alice Clark Never - Did I Stop Loving You
3 Buddy Terry - Abscretions
4 Maxine Weldon - Right On
1 Barry Miles - Scatbird
2 Jack Wilkins - Red Clay
3 Clark Terry - Rum And Mumbles
4 Ellerine Harding - I Ain't Got Much
1 Blue mitchell - Granite & concrete
2 Hadley Caliman - Quadrivium
3 Carmen McRae - Feelin' Good

Available from 02.12.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung