Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Sep 30 2016 | 04:52
Image: 1604615 Das neue Album der jamaikanischen Künstlerin Jah9 mit dem Titel 9 erscheint am 09.09.2016! Zitat: "2 + 0 + 1 + 6 = 9. 2016 ist das Jahr der 9. Die Frau, die den Jazz in den Reggae gebracht hat, kommt auf ihrem selbstproduzierten zweiten, folgerichtig "9" betitelten Album mit einer Runderneuerung von Roots-Reggae um die Ecke. Auf neun Songs lotet sie die musikalischen Grenzen des Genres aus und erweitert das inhaltliche Spektrum um alte, aber selten ausformulierte Erkenntnisse, in denen sich spirituelle und materielle Einsichten zu revolutionären Calls to Action kondensieren" (RIDDIM Magazin #85)

The new album entitled "9" is released on the 09.09.!

For those who've been waiting for Rasta consciousness to mount a resurgence in contemporary reggae, Jah9’s first album for VP is a figure of revelation and deliverance. Including artists Earl "Chinna" Smith, Dean Fraser and Unga Thompson, Jah9 has delivered in "9" an album that fulfills the promise of her earlier releases with expansive maturity, prophetic purpose and even deeper displays of warrior-goddess prowess on the mic. As combination guest the longplayer features Vaughn "Akae Beka" Benjamin (from Midnite). The CD will come with an eco-friendly, recyclable soft pack with 12-page booklet and the LP in an eco-friendly, recyclable standard jacket.


VP Records is pleased to announce the welcoming of Jamaican singer-songwriter and producer Jah9 to the family.

9 | 9 | 2 + 0 + 1 + 6 = 9

For those who've been waiting for Rasta consciousness to mount a resurgence in contemporary reggae, Jah9 is a figure of revelation and deliverance. She first caught the attention of many with the release of her lilting video for "Avocado." When heard in the full flower of older songs such as "Steamers A Bubble," "Jungle" and "Gratitude" Jah9 was revealed to be a singer and poet of considerable range, soul and jazz inflected melodicism. Her fiery and righteous live shows can testify she is hardly a made in the studio chanteuse incapable of translating to the stage with abundant dynamism. The product of a strong upbringing, by two hard working culturally and politically engaged parents, Jah9 is also a university graduate, a multidisciplinary yoga instructor, a youth at risk counselor and a celebrated dub poet. The combination of intellectual rigor, real world activism and lyrical musicality is well on display in her entirely self-produced sophomore album '9'. Thematically there is no slacking in spiritual advocacy, oppositional militancy or honed and focused tunefulness.

Through the new addition of Jah9, VP Records, the premiere reggae label and distributor, will break new ground with her depth of talent. She joins the label's longstanding reputation for producing hitmakers: Sean Paul, Gyptian, Beenie Man, Beres Hammond, Morgan Heritage, Tarrus Riley, Busy Signal, Alborosie, I Wayne, Romain Virgo, Christopher Martin, Raging Fyah, Lady Saw, Spice, Etana, Queen Ifrica, Bunji Garlin and many more.

VP Records CEO Chris Chin expresses his enthusiasm about the signing. "We are excited to share Jah9's fusion of reggae, jazz and spoken word to the world. She exemplifies the meaning of multi-talented - boasting sharp songwriting and production skills matched with her soulful voice - and exudes a presence and spirit that resonates with the listener. She has something unique and special that will carry on for generations to come."

This week, she unveils "Humble Mi" to the world (out Fri. Jun 24), the first single from her highly-anticipated label debut '9', slated for release on September 9, 2016.

"This song was inspired by my whole journey and life unfolding, teaching me that knowing is not the journey because you will always have to know more. The journey is peace, love and balancing the energies within," explains Jah9.

Watch live rendition of "Humble Mi" on BBC Radio 1Xtra:
Listen (feel free to post) "Humble Mi" now:

Jah9's relationship with VP Records has blossomed in recent years. Her track "Feeling Irie" was a highlight of 2015's The Biggest Reggae One Drop Anthems, and this year Jah9 contributed "Bloody City" to We Remember Dennis Brown, a tribute album to the Crown Prince of Reggae.

Jah9 "Humble Mi":

Tracklisting (tbc)
1. Humble Mi
2. Prosper
3. Hardcore
4. Unafraid
5. In The Spirit
6. In The Midst
7. Natural Vibe
8. Baptised
9. Greatest Threat To The Status Quo feat. Vaughn "Akae Beka" Benjamin
Side One
A1. Humble Mi
A2. Prosper
A3. Hardcore
A4. Unafraid
A5. In The Spirit
Side Two
B1. In The Midst
B2. Natural Vibe
B3. Baptised
B4. Greatest Threat To The Status Quo feat. Vaughn "Akae Beka" Benjamin Available from 16.09.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung