Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Sep 16 2016 | 11:19 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Brian AugerBrian Auger, the London born keyboard genius & musical pioneer, lauded and loved by everybody from Herbie Hancock to Mose Allison, from the Brand New Heavies to The Beastie Boys, whose tracks have been sampled by Mos Def, Common, Air and Kid Loco, and his original compositions covered by Sarah Vaughan, Richard ‘Groove’ Holmes and he is the proud recipient of a US Congressional Award For Services to Jazz!

Since the 2015 release of volume one of Back To The Beginning – The Brian Auger Anthology, it’s fair to say that a whole new audience of fans and taste makers have joined the massed ranks of music lovers who were already aware of this great mans incredible, pioneering music and career that now spans over 50 years. After more sell out tours of the US, UK and Europe in the last 12 months, magazine features and an epic, 2 hour interview with Gilles Peterson on BBC 6 Music – more people than ever now grasp what a genre busting, pioneering artist Brian is.

This second volume brings together not only remastered classics from Brian’s’ career, but also super rare, and previously unreleased tracks. Check out his blistering jazz piano tracks from the early 60’s including Poinciana and Work Song, the barely known, late 60’s Hammond organ & big band versions of jazz standards Moanin’, Sister Sadie, and the incredibly gritty version by The Trinity of Jimmy McGriffs’ MG Blues, and the Big John Patton penned Funky Mama! The version of Miles Davis’ All Blues featuring Trinity vocalist Julie Driscoll needs to be heard to be believed.

As well as Oblivion Express perennials such as Straight Ahead, Inner City Blues and Happiness Is Just Around The Bend (Brians original composition, made famous by Cuba Gooding Seniors The Main Ingredient) there is also a demo version of Black Octopus, featuring The Headhunters Mike Clark & Paul Jackson, recorded in Brians’ Bay Area garage after Herbie Hancock split that equally groundbreaking group.

You will also be swept away by Ella, the rare track Brian wrote and dedicated to his wife of nearly 50 years – and you will no doubt be up on your feet when checking out brand new, previously unreleased live versions of Whenever You’re Ready and Freedom Jazz Dance, featuring original Oblivion Express vocalist Alex Ligertwood – recorded on 2015’s epic and triumphant European tour and released here for the very first time.

Back To The Beginning Again: Anthology Vol.2 is a fantastic collection that demonstrates why Brian Auger is considered legendary.


01. Love for Sale
02. Poinciana
03. Work Song
04. It Ain’t Necessarily So
05. Misty
06. M.G Blues
07. In & Out
08. Pavane
09. All Blues (feat. Julie Driscoll)
10. Lament for Miss Baker
11. Maiden Voyage
12. Funky Mama
13. Moanin’
14. Sister Sadie
15. Straight Ahead
16. Light on the Path
17. Inner City Blues
18. Happiness Is Just Around the Bend
19. Brain Damage
20. Foolish Girl (feat. Alex Ligertwood)
21. Planet Earth Calling
22. Black Octopus
23. Ella
24. Whenever You’re Ready (Live in Germany) [feat. Alex Ligertwood]
25. Freedom Jazz Dance (Live in Germany) [feat. Alex Ligertwood]

The collection Brian AugerBack To The Beginning Again: Anthology Vol.2” (Freestyle Records) is going to be released September 30, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung