Friday, Sep 16 2016 | 04:36
Image: 1606234 ESP Disk present Immortal Light the new album from Buck Curran.

1. Wayfaring Summer (Reprise)
2. New Moontide
3. Sea of Polaris
4. Seven Gardens to Your Shore
5. River unto Sea
6. Bad Moon Rising
7. Andromeda
8. Immortal Light (featuring Shanti Deschaine)

Album Credits
Buck Curran: vocals, guitars, harmonium, flute, banjo. Shanti Deschaine: backup vocals on "New Moontide"
and "Bad Moon Rising." Featured lead vocals and harmonium on "Immortal Light." Mastering by Harris
Newman at Grey Market Mastering.
Written, produced, performed and recorded by Buck Curran, ASCAP. © 2016 Obsolete Recordings ? Arborea
Music. Physical formats under exclusive license to ESP-Disk'. "Bad Moon Rising" © and ? Jondora Music
Publishing. Lyrics by John C. Fogerty, BMI.
Cover photo Blue Skies on Pluto courtesy of NASA.
Overview: Immortal Light is the debut solo album by guitarist-singer-songwriter Buck Curran. Since 2005, Buck
has recorded and performed as one half of the alt-folk duo Arborea. To date, Arborea has released five albums,
including 2013's ESP-Disk' release Fortress of the Sun, and produced two various- artist compilations (Leaves of
Life: a benefit for the World Food Program and We Are All One, In the Sun: a tribute to Robbie Basho). Buck has
also produced a second tribute to Robbie Basho, Basket Full of Dragons, for release on July 5, 2016 on Obsolete
Buck's music has developed through a decade of playing with Arborea and the experience of playing Blues and
Folk throughout the 1990s. He also draws inspiration from the deep well of Folk and Rock of the 1960s (Robbie
Basho, Jimi Hendrix, Tim Buckley), American Blues and Folk music of the 1930s, British Folk and Psychedelic
Folk/Rock of the '60s and early '70s (Peter Green, Sandy Denny, Pentangle, Davey Graham, Nick Drake, Led
Zeppelin, Martin Simpson), Indian Classical music (Pandit Nikhil Banerjee), and Jazz of the '50s and '60s (Ornette
Coleman and John Coltrane).
Press: Bob Boilen, the host of NPR's All Songs Considered, listed Arborea among his favorite concerts and
recommended live acts in 2012, which led to the invitation to perform a Tiny Desk Concert at NPR's
headquarters. Arborea's fourth album, Red Planet, was released in 2011 and received critical praise making:
David Fricke's Rolling Stone 'Best Under-the-Radar Albums of 2011', Guitar Player Magazine Editors 'Top Pick',
Uncut 'Top 100 Albums of 2011', etc. Fortress of the Sun was released in 2013 on ESP-Disk' coinciding with the
label's 50th Anniversary and made AllMusic's 'Favorite Folk Albums of 2013' and 'Favorite Singer/Songwriter
Albums of 2013', Acoustic Guitar's 'Best Acoustic Albums of 2013', Best of Echoes 2013 Listener Poll, etc. Paste
also listed Arborea in their profile of top musical acts in Maine for their '50 States Project'. We Are All One, In
the Sun: a tribute to Robbie Basho made Acoustic Guitar's 'Best Acoustic Albums of 2010', Pitchfork 7.8, Guitar
Player Editors 'Top Pick', etc.
Guitar Player
NPR Tiny Desk Concert
Early Press Quotes for Immortal Light:
"Guitar tones linger and reverberate with a mystical translucence." - Dusted Mag
"The wonderful new Buck Curran LP on ESP-Disk', as gorgeous a psychedelic folk record as can be in 2016." -
Jeff Conklin, host of The Avant Ghetto on WFMU
Facebook -
Youtube - Available from 25.11.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung