Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Saturday, Aug 27 2016 | 10:09
Image: 1606083 With the clarity of a lucid dream, Milo’s new album So the Flies
Don’t Come combines sharp spoken words and riveting beats into
an irrefutable work of art. His music is expansively original, like a
science experiment whose constants are poetry and philosophy. So
the Flies Don’t Come features a crisp cast of guest artists: Myka
9, Elucid, Open Mike Eagle, and Hemlock Ernst a.k.a. Samuel T.
Herring of Future Islands all bring their distinctive talents to the sonic
Interesting breaks create a refreshing cadence in “Souvenir (feat.
Hemlock Ernst),” a stroll through the park that playfully pauses in
thought. Let your soul fly with “Zen Scientist (feat. Myka 9),” and tilt
into the bright light as “Yomilo” wrenches down the beat. A breathless
finale to the album, “Song About a Raygunn (An Ode to Driver)”
sends off the listener with an undeniable burst of energy.
Chill but aware, clever yet inviting – So the Flies Don’t Come is a
skillful showcase for Milo’s articulate wit, expressive warmth, and
gifted production.

1. Rabblerouse
2. Souvenir (feat. Hemlock Ernst)
3. Zen Scientist (feat. Myka 9)
4. Re: Animist
5. An Encyclopedia
6. Going No Place (feat. Elucid)
7. True Nen (feat. Open Mike Eagle)
8. Napping Under the Echo Tree
9. Yomilo
10. Song About a Raygunn (An Ode to Driver)

• 7.4/10 Rating on Pitchfork
• “Milo’s so the flies don’t come is wonderful, laidback California rap. But don’t let the aesthetics fool you—he’s a fierce lyricist with a killer sense of humor. A perfect album for weird days and off kilter listeners” - Sheldon Pearce, Pitchfork
• Features Myka 9, Elucid, Open Mike Eagle, and Hemlock Ernst a.k.a. Samuel T. Herring of Future Islands
• Limited first pressing
• Includes lyric sheet Available from 16.09.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung