Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Aug 12 2016 | 03:50
Image: 1604693 Pajaro Sunrise is Yuri Mendez. Yuri Mendez is a prolific guy. Over the past ten years he's produced albums for other artists, translated a book from English to Spanish (Perfecting Sound Forever, by Greg Milner, the first edition of which sold out pretty quickly, while the second one is well on its way to do exactly the same), made music for large advertising campaigns (Vodafone, for example), soundtracked the poems of actor, comedian and poet Hovik Keuchkerian, and, most of all, wrote and recorded a large amount of songs, many of which featured on his four albums.

And yet, Oh My is his first album since Kulturkatzenjammer, which came out in the autumn of 2013. The release coincides with the tenth anniversary of Pajaro Sunrise's first album, and, as its subtitle explains, features a collection of songs that have not been released officially until now - twenty-two tracks that have been on the shelves for some time, but are now saved from oblivion.

Quite a few of those tunes are new, recorded by Yuri because, well, writing, playing and recording music is simply a basic need to the man. Others have different origins: "A Different Scene" is a song written for a beautiful animation made in 2012 for a UNICEF fundraising campaign, "Reel Of The World" was a bonus track on the Japanese edition of the first Pajaro Sunrise album, some titles are alternate takes on previously released songs featured on previous albums, and there's a handful of cover versions - tunes that have been important to him over the years, enough so that he decided to make them his: Bruce Springsteen's "I'm On Fire", "Earth Angel" by The Penguins, The Beatles' "Girl", "Swingin' Party" by The Replacements, Johnny Cash's "Guess Things Happen That Way", Bill Withers' "Just The Two Of Us", and "All Ears" by The Whitest Boy Alive.

- Oh My (Lost Songs 2006-2016) is Pajaro Sunrise's first album since 2013's Kulturkatzenjammer
- The album features previously unreleased tracks, alternate takes, home recordings, bespoke songs, and cover versions of tunes by The Beatles, Bruce Springsteen, Johnny Cash, Bill Withers, The Whitest Boy Alive, and The Penguins
- His music was featured in advertising campaigns for big brands such as Vodafone and McDonald's, and in TV series such as Castle and The Big C
- In 2015, he translated Greg Milner's Perfecting Sound Forever from English to Spanish
- In 2014, he soundtracked the poems of actor, poet, comedian and former boxing champion Hovik Keuchkerian
- It's been ten years since Pajaro Sunrise's first release

1 A Different Scene
2 All Ears
3 Kahlenberg
4 Total Mistake
5 Wolf
6 I'm On Fire
7 Swingin' Party
8 Tiny Hearts Make Big Plans
9 Laura May
10 Sky High
11 No
12 Guess Things Happen That Way
13 Just The Two Of Us
14 Commitments
15 Song For Evangeline (Demo)
16 Stone That Freud
17 Earth Angel
18 A Lot Like Elvis
19 Girl
20 Keep On Driving (Alternate)
21 Filthy Paycheck
22 Reel Of The World Available from 18.11.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung