Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Aug 11 2016 | 06:50
Image: 1605779 This Is Her is LAKIM’s first full-length album. Multi-genre producer
born and radummyised in Lynchburg, Virginia whose personal motto
reads: “keep it simple”, is a part of the storied Soulection crew. Well
known for his EP Esoteric, which dropped in summer 2012, the
twentysomething year old has collaborations with other stellar artists
like Sango and Mr. Carmack as well as various remixes of premium
artists such as Erykah Badu, Kanye West, and Frank Ocean range
from electronic chillwaved dance to spacey yet refined hip-hop.
With a unique sound that seamlessly and effortlessly combines the
perfect amount of bass, bounce and vocals, This Is Her becomes
palatable to many.
The album has an overwhelming feminine vibe to it – light and airy,
soft and beautiful. As LAKIM draws the soundscape for this project
from some inspiring ladies in his life, the sounds come through as
traits: calm & collected, sexy & sassy, grounded & driven, loving &
“During the course of the year I probably spent making this, I met
three woman that embodied some of these traits but not all of them.
So, this is essentially me taking the best bits from each of them
and creating in my mind a Bride of Franksteinesque ladyfriend and
putting it into song form, lol...” - LAKIM

• Debut full-length album from Virginian producer Lakim
• Known for his various remixes of premium artists such as Erykah Badu, Kanye West, and Frank Ocean
• Pressed on clear vinyl
• Artwork by Andre Power
• Executive produced by Joe Kay

1. Need Want
2. Do More Work
3. Contemplating
4. Thinkin’ Bout (Doin U)
5. Pay What You Owe
6. The Abyss ft. High-Klassified
7. Superb
8. Tantric
9. White Gold
10. Angel’s Dance
11. Lay It On You ft. Da-P (Bonus)
12. Take This Ride (Bonus) Available from 09.09.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung