Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Aug 05 2016 | 03:40
Image: 1605544 Under the guidance of musical legend Allen Toussiant, unsung soul queen Betty Harris recorded a string of incredible singles that have finally been collected on a new compilation by Soul Jazz Records. Recorded between 1964 and 1969, and backed by seminal engine room The Meters, the singles capture Harris' raw, soulful, uncompromising voice that reflected the city's raucous music scene, spilling out of every joint on Bourbon Street. Although not native to New Orleans - she flew in for sessions from LA - Harris was synonymous with the city, pressing singles to Toussaint and his business partner Marshall Sehorn's local label Sansu, that would become staples in jukeboxes across Louisiana. However, failing to gain the wider reputation enjoyed by her contemporaries like Lee Dorsey (who she recorded with) and The Meters (who backed her), Harris' contribution was never fully realised and her career as a musician ended prematurely at the turn of the decade.


1. There's A Break In The Road 02:51
2. 12 Red Roses 02:31
3. Mean Man 02:41
4. I'm Gonna Git Ya 02:19
5. Ride Your Pony 03:11
6. Show It 03:02
7. I Don't Wanna Hear It 02:06
8. Bad Luck 02:33
9. Hook, Line 'n' Sinker 02:41
10. Lonely Hearts 02:55
11. What A Sad Feeling 02:21
12. What'd I Do Wrong 02:50
13. Trouble With My Lover 02:48
14. Sometime 02:35
15. I'm Evil Tonight 02:23
16. Nearer To You 02:55
17. All I Want Is You 02:20
Available from 07.10.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung