Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jul 29 2016 | 02:20
Image: 1605425 Soul Jazz Records' new Nigeria Soul Fever is their first release to explore the vast wealth of Nigerian music recorded in the 1970s. The new album comes with introductory sleeve-notes by Bill Brewster (author of Last Night A DJ Saved My Life).

Packed-full with Afro-Funk, Disco and Boogie all from Nigeria, this triple album/double CD set brings together a stunning collection of diverse West African sounds. Whilst a small handful of the artists featured (Joni Haastrup, Tee Mac, Christy Essien) have seen the light of day outside Africa, this is essentially a collection of killer tracks by an array of artists completely unknown outside of Nigeria. Artists such as Don Bruce & The Angels, Akin Richards & The Executives, Angela Starr, Jimmy Sherry & The Music Agents. It's no surprise that these records are extremely rare and expensive to buy individually so this album will save you going broke trying to find them.

These recordings were made at a time when Nigeria’s trade restrictions banned imported records. Whilst new musical trends (such as American soul, funk, disco etc) entered and influenced the country, the local music scene remained just that - local. Consequently, these recordings remain practically unknown to anyone outside of the country.

This album follows on from Soul Jazz Records' 1960s collection Nigeria Freedom Sounds, released last month, and will be followed by the reissue of the incredibly rare and groovy Nigerian 1980 disco boogie funk album Tee Mac's Night Illusion.

Triple-album vinyl + download.


1. Joni Haastrup - Free My People (4.52)
2. Christy Essien - You Can't Change A Man (3.57)
3. Akin Richards & The Executives - Afrikana Disco (6.25)
4. Tee Mac - Nam Myoho Renge Kyo (5.38)
5. Joni Haastrup - Greetings (6.10)
6. Don Bruce and The Angels - Ocheche (Happy Song) (5.50)
7. Benis Cletin - Get Up and Dance (5.35)
8. Colomach - Enoviyin (5.01)
9. Joni Haastrup - Do The Funkro (4.01)
10. Tee Mac featuring Marjorie Barnes - Living Everyday (5.17)
11. Arakatula - Mr Been To (3.57)
12. Angela Starr - Disco Dancing (5.29)
13. Joni Haastrup - Wake Up Your Mind (5.56)
14. Jimmy Sherry & The Musik Agents - Nwaeze (12.41)
15. Benis Cletin - Soul Fever (5.02)
16. Arakatula - Wake Up Africa (3.20) Available from 09.09.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung