Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Jul 20 2016 | 09:18 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

King Jammy Presents: New Sounds Of FreedomA re-generation for a nu-generation with all exclusive recordings! Mr. Lloyd James aka Prince Jammy aka King Jammy (or simply Jammy’s) updates his 1977 Black Uhuru album classic with an all-star voiceover artist line up of both current core and heritage heroes Alborosie, Chronixx, Gentleman, Kabaka Pyramid, Dre Island and U Roy, Shaggy alongside Beenie Man, Tony Rebel, Bounty Killer, Louie Culture. All the singers and deejays come with a boom shot apiece to ensure that “New Sounds Of Freedom” stands toe-to-toe with its illustrious originator “Love Crisis / Black Sounds Of Freedom” the album.

c r e d i t s
Vocals: Black Uhuru / Duckie Simpson, Errol Nelson, Michael Rose
Bass: Robbie Shakespeare, Mikey
Drums: Sly Dunbar, Santa Davis
Syndrums: Style Scott
Guitar: Bingy Bunny, Bo Pee Bowen, Earl “Chinna” Smith
Horns: Cedric “Im” Brooks, “Deadly” Headley Bennett, Bobby Ellis
Organ, Piano, Clavinet: Winston Wright, Gladstone Anderson, Keith Sterling
Percussion: Noel “Scully” Simms
Harmonica: Johnny Osbourne
Strings: Earl “Wire” Lindo
Rhythms laid at Harry J’s Recording studio.
Voiced and mixed at King Tubby’s.
Produced and engineered by Prince Jammy
Original Recording 1977
Remixed by Prince Jammy at King Tubby’s 1981
Recording of voiceovers re-produced by King Jammy 2016

Tracklisting (with the original Black Uhuru song from 1977 in breaks):

01. Alborosie – Peace Treaty Style (Time To Unite)
02. Dre Island – Walls Of Babylon (Eden Out Deh)
03. Chronixx – King Selassie Throne (I Love King Selassie)
04. Tony Rebel – Dof Nyam Yuh Suppa (Sorry For The Man)
05. Bounty Killer – Another Day In The Ghetto (Hard Ground)
06. Gentleman – Leave Satan Business (Satan Arny Band)
07. Kabaka Pyramid – Peace And Love (Willow Tree)
08. U Roy – Mystic Chant (Natural Mystic)
09. Shaggy & Beenie Man – Leggo Babylon Wickedness (African Love)
10. Louie Culture – People Bawling (Love Crisis)

The compilation Black Uhuru (Tribute)King Jammy Presents: New Sounds Of Freedom” (Greensleeves / VP Records) is going to be released August 12, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung