Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jul 15 2016 | 12:43 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

AggrovatorsEssential Dub Reggae from 1975 to 1979. All the 44 tracks from the Blood & Fire “Dub Gone Crazy”, “Dub Gone 2 Crazy” and “Dub Like Dirt” releases re-selected for one crucial 2CD-set and two double vinyls.

With producer Bunny Lee (King) Tubby’s Dromilly Avenue dub factory has become synonymous with a form that has transformed the soundscape – not just in Reggae, but in dance music generally. The importance of King Tubby’s studio to the history of recorded sound is beyond measure and its all-encompassing influence is a lasting monument to the resolute resourcefulness of Jamaica’s musical pioneers. The forty-four dubs here were originally assembled by Blood & Fire for three bestselling but long deleted 1990’s compilations that are now much sort after. Freshly sequenced and re-mastered ‘Dubbing at King Tubby’s’ showcases the mixing skills of King Tubby, Prince Jammy, Scientist, Phillip Smart & Pat Kelly on a drum and bass heavy selection of ground-breaking Bunny Lee dubs.

The Aggrovators were the house band of reggae producer Bunny Lee. At different times members included the likes of Carlton Barrett, Sly Dunbar, Santa Davis, Robbie Shakespeare, Aston ‘Family Man’ Barrett, Valentine ‘Tony’ Chin, Geoffrey Chung, Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith, Carl Harvey, Keith Sterling, Ossie Hibbert, Ian Winter, Augustus Pablo, Jackie Mittoo, Winston Wright, Tommy McCook, Lennox Brown, Bobby Ellis and Skully Sims.

“Osbourne Ruddock, (28 January 1941 – 6 February 1989) better known as King Tubby, was a Jamaican electronics and sound engineer, known primarily for his influence on the development of dub in the 1960s and 1970s. Tubby’s innovative studio work, which saw him elevate the role of the mixing engineer to a creative fame previously only reserved for composers and musicians, would prove to be influential across many genres of popular music. He is often cited as the inventor of the concept of the remix, and so may be seen as a direct antecedent of much dance and electronic music production. Singer Mikey Dread stated, “King Tubby truly understood sound in a scientific sense. He knew how the circuits worked and what the electrons did. That’s why he could do what he did.”

Tracklisting (2CD-Set):


01. Bag O Wire Dub
02. Dub Of Rights
03. Guidance Dub
04. Hold Them In Dub
05. Dub Ites Green And Gold
06. A Heavy Dub
07. Stealing Version
08. The Poor Barber
09. Real Gone Crazy Dub
10. King Tubby’s In Fine Style
11. No Love Version
12. A Living Version
13. Six Million Dollar Version
14. African Sounds
15. A Stalawatt Version
16. How Long Dub
17. Breaking Up Dubwise
18. Horn For I
19. Drums Of Africa
20. Dub To The Rescue
21. Jah Love Rockers Dub
22. Fatter Dub


01. Satta Dread Dub
02. Exalted Dub
03. Tubby Get Smart
04. Wreck Up A Version
05. Beat Them In Dub
06. Channel Is A Joker
07. Channel One Under Heavy Manners
08. Channel Get Knockout
09. Everybody Needs Dub
10. Dub With A View
11. Dub Is My Occupation
12. Dub Fi Gwan
13. Dub Investigation
14. Thunder Rock
15. Version Of Class
16. The Champion Version
17. Sly Want Dub
18. Higher Ranking
19. Dreada Version
20. Peace And Love In TheDub
21. Step It Up In Dub
22. Chapter Of Money

The compilation AggrovatorsDubbing At King Tubby’s” (17 North Parade) is going to be released July 15, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung