Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jun 10 2016 | 06:22
Image: 1602785 Marlow is back with the new album In The Backroom.

A1 Marlow - Who's This
A2 Marlow - Kaffee Türkisch
A3 Marlow & ComixXx - Something Is Coming feat. Stee Downes
A4 Marlow - Your Softness
B1 Marlow - Can't Stop
B2 Marlow - Watch Your Step feat Capitol A
B3 Marlow - And His Mind Blown
B4 Marlow & ComixXx - Shimmy Shimmy Shake
C1 Marlow - Ain't No feat. Capitol A
C2 Marlow - Backroom feat. Pete Josef
C3 Marlow - Perhaps
C4 Marlow & Trüby - Windy City
D1 Marlow - I Do, We Do
D2 Marlow - Away feat. Ursula Rucker
D3 Marlow - For Blood The Crowd Bays feat.Pete Josef
D4 Marlow - Forstforscher feat. Flowin Immo

Good things come to those who wait. That's probably what the Leipzig socialized, now
Weimar based Mario Weise aka Marlow was thinking, too. His first official, proper album
by the name of “In The Backroom” has been in the pipeline for two years now. Since his
EP “Backroom”, released in March 2014 on Sonar Kollektiv (SK265), we are waiting with
bated breath for the therewith auspiciously announced longplayer, which – now finally here
– actually does fires off one highlight after another.
There's of course the 80ies funk inspired ex ante single with Pete Josef on vocals, the
even more LA electro funk derived collaborations with US MC Capitol A „Watch Your
Step“ and „Ain't No“ or the zippy clubhit “Shimmy Shimmy Shake” and the rousing, singa-
long “Something Is Coming” in cooperation with his former production partner
ComixXx. This is not Marlow with a higgledy-piggledy mob of sidekicks though. „Kaffee
Türkisch“, „Your Softness“ and „Can't Stop“ demonstrate gloriously where the versatile
producer has deep roots in: Soulful hip-hop with a bass-heavy lateral position. And when
singer Ursula Rucker helps him out on “Away” nothing seems to be impossible on this
debut of his. It's not a coincidence that Marlow's music has already been released on
Moon Harbour, Room With A View, Fifty Fathoms Deep and Objektivity. But it took
some time until he now finally found with Sonar Kollektiv the right outlet for his utopia. The
label itself pressed every button as well to turn “In The Backroom” into a modern
masterpiece of Neo Funk. Next to the afore mentioned collaborations further contributions
come from the Black Forest based Rainer Trüby (“Windy City”), the German rapper
Flowin Immo (“Forst Forscher”) and Stee Downes (“Something Is Coming”). Altogether
Marlow animates all of these sixteen tracks off his more than impressive debut with
imperious historical awareness and finesse.
That's exactly why “In The Backroom” is such a delight, because it expertly masters the
balance act between Soul, Hip-Hop, Funk, Groove and pop appeal.
Available from 22.07.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung