Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jun 03 2016 | 03:11
Image: 1604196 2015 was a productive year for Z Records with the release of Opolopo’s artist album, the Joey Negro compiled
Le Freak - a tribute to the sound of Chic, 90’s House & Garage and the long awaited Supafunkanova Vol.2.
As a result 2016 had a lot to live up to but it has already started in fine form with the release of Volume Two of
Joey Negro’s Remixed With Love series, an album that has been supported by dj’s across the board and has
been lauded as a landmark album in it’s genre.
Z Records continues its commitment to unearthing the obscure and long forgotten tracks from the last 40 years
through the ever-popular Under The Influence series. Following on from Red Greg, Paul Phillips, James Glass
and Nick The Record it’s now the turn of another of the worlds most respected record collectors to put
together their selection. This time it’s long time Z Records album co-compiler Sean P.
Alongside Joey Negro, Sean P has been responsible for some killer selections for their Soul of Disco and
Supafunkanova series, all of which feature tracks from Sean’s vast record collection. He has been collecting
records since his early years, producing and releasing his own edits way before they became the norm and is
widely recognized as one of the foremost fountains of musical knowledge so to say he is a stalwart of the
underground music scene is well deserved.
For his UTI album he goes even deeper and much more across the board with tracks taking in afro, soul, funk,
disco, Brit Funk, dub and jazz with many of the tracks costing hundreds if you were able to find the originals.
Included in the booklet are extensive track notes from Sean highlighting what he knows about these records
and, where they are super-rare and obscure, what he doesn’t.
As always with ZR compilations a lot of time and effort has been spent on creating these masters from the
original vinyl, cleaning them up, removing all the clicks and pops resulting in the cleanest sounding copy

CD Track List

CD One
01 Crystal Clear - (Caught Between) A Rock And A Hard Place
02 Joanne Ellis - Bye Baby
03 King David - Trinidad Rock
04 Plunky and Oneness of Ju Ju - Electric Juju Nation/Keep It Moving
05 BBRA - Do What Make You Feel Good
06 George & Glen Miller - Easing
07 HE3 Project - Thesis On Love
08 Fruitcake - We Are Children
09 Don & Oli – Superman
10 Ed Watson And The Brass Circle - Roforofo Fight
11 Jimmy Spencer – Summertime
12 Les Femmes - Yes, You Thrill Me
13 Nostromo - Around The World In 80 Seconds
14 The Coalition - Where Do We Go From Here

CD Two
01 Bobby Cash Redd - Skate-Party People
02 Medina & Mensah - Kowree Sambazzi
03 Natural Hi - Fame (Hi Re-Mix)
04 Yeow - Give My Heart Away
05 The Mark IV - If You Can't Tell Me Something Good
06 J.P. Robinson - Y'Shua
07 Sandy Mercer - Give Me Your Love
08 The Love Bite - What Goes Up
09 World Quake Band - On The One
10 The Stars – (We Are The) Stars
11 William C. Brown III - Come On And Go With Me
12 Starship Gilbey - Take A Train
13 Darlene Davis - Making It

Vinyl Track List

Record One
A1 Natural Hi - Fame (Hi Re-Mix)
A2 George & Glen Miller - Easing
B1 J.P. Robinson - Y'Shua
B2 Ed Watson And The Brass Circle - Roforofo Fight
B3 Medina & Mensah - Kowree Sambazzi

Record Two
C1 King David - Trinidad Rock
C2 The Mark IV - If You Can't Tell Me Something Good
C3 Nostromo - Around The World In 80 Seconds
D1 Don & Oli - Superman
D2 World Quake Band - On The One
D3 The Stars - (We Are The) Stars Available from 15.07.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung