Recent posts

Saib. – Sailing
Jan 19, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jun 02 2016 | 06:10
Image: 1604453 SunPath is the 1980s outsider New Age music of nomadic
journeyman Jeff Berry.Self-released and privately distributed around
the southwest United States in 1980 and 1984, the coveted material
is now seeing the light of sun for the first time since its genesis.
Currently living in rural Wyoming, Jeff reflects on the Dream Music
to Leaving Records:
“In 1980 several unique events prompted me to jump from the edge
of my known world into other spaces and other places … during the
early 80s, each year I chose a vision or theme and created a work
of music based upon it.
One of the many things that made working on the SunPath music
compositions so interesting and compelling is that in order to evoke
visual images I would spend considerable time searching for specific
sounds.To do that I constructed many different kinds of instruments
and devices - the following details some of this process and how I
combined these acoustical sounds electronically to create a blend
of music not really describable from either medium - all treated with
experimental tape-transferring to induce artifact and generation of
overtone sequences.
In the years that followed, I became more acutely aware of walking
upon the borderline of other dimensions of reality. Even as I write at
this moment if I step outside into the snow and look at a single pine
needle or twig, it glows and shimmers as if flickering in and out of
the solid reality we most normally inhabit. Everything in the natural
world has this quality and I am most perplexed and astounded at
every moment of my being.”

Yasimin and the Snowflake Dragon (1980):
1. Jasmine
2. Snow Flake Dragon
SunPath2 (1984):
1. Gá Te
2. Stream and Crystal

• Privately-issued New Age/Psychedelic gems from 1980 and 1984, revived and reissued by Leaving Records
• The two tapes are duplicated exactly as they were originally released, with 6-panel j-cards containing extensive liner notes.
• The tapes are bundled in a midnight blue & gold sleeve, and come with immediate digital download Available from 01.07.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung