Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, May 06 2016 | 13:32 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Joanna BroukShe was a composer who wrote scores with geometric shapes, a poet who became a pioneer of early electronic music. Joanna Brouk’s little-known body of work exists at the nexus between ambient, new age, drone, and classical minimalism-stark in its simplicity, lush in its expanse. Studying under Robert Ashley and Terry Riley at the fabled Mills College Center For Contemporary Music before graduating into the margins of the 70s bay area new music scene, Ms. Brouk blazed her own trail well outside of the musical establishment to create uncompromising electronic and acoustic work of sleek beauty and primal power. Describing herself as less a composer than a channel, she took her cues from the frequencies of the natural world and the talents of collaborators like Maggi Payne and Bill Maraldo. Hearing Music collects for the first time the deepest cuts from her beguiling and rare cassette releases and her archive of previously unreleased recordings.

“I realized that, in many instances, it didn’t matter what you said, it mattered how you said it: the tone of the voice, the rhythm, the sound … . Because sound has an incredible effect on other people, it can mak e them dance, put them into trances, it can control emotions by a certain pitch, a certain depth.” – Joanna Brouk



01. Going Through The Veil – Becoming A Swan
02. Lifting Off
03. Mary’s Watch Part One
04. Mary’s Watch Part Two
05. Mary’s Watch Part Three
06. Mary’s Watch Part Four
07. Fire Breath
08. The Creative


01. The Space Between
02. Majesty Suites: Entrance Of The Queen Of Winter Dawn
03. Invocation
04. Atavesta
05. Playing In The Water
06. Aurora
07. Diving Deeper, Remembering Love
08. Going To Sleep
09. The Reminder Of Long Ago
10. The Nymph Rising, Calling The Sailor
11. First Meeting
12. Touching The Sky
13. The Sounding
14. Return To The Deep

The album Joanna BroukHearing Music” (Numero Group) is going to be released May 6, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung