Wednesday, Apr 20 2016 | 08:19
Image: 1602554 "This Double LP Is Packaged With a Stand Alone 104 Page Full Color Book, Filled With
Incredible Photos And Words By Noted Expert On Nigerian Music, Uchenna Ikonne. The Western world was in the throes of peace, love and flower power as Nigeria descended into Civil War in 1967.
The rock scene that developed during the following three years of bloodshed and destruction would come to heal
the country, propagate the world-wide ideal of the Modern Nigerian, and propel Fela Kuti to stardom after the
conflict ended in 1970.
Wake Up You! tells the story of this time, pays homage to these now-forgotten musicians and their struggle, and
brings to light the funk and psychedelic fury they created as they wrested free of the ravages of the late 1960s and
created thrilling, original Nigerian rock music throughout the 1970s.
Along with the double vinyl, Wake Up You! Includes a 104 page book full of never-seen photos and detailed liner
notes by Nigerian musicologist and researcher Uchenna Ikonne (Who Is William Onyeabor?, Brand New Wayo,
etc.), with all tracks fully licensed from the bands themselves."

A1. Formulars Dance Band - Never Never Let Me Down
A2. The Hygrades - Keep On Moving
A3. Ify Jerry Krusade - Everybody Likes Something Good
A4. The Hyrades - In The Jungle (Instrumental)
A5. The Strangers - Onye Ije
B1. The Hykkers - Stone The Flower
B2. The Funkees - Baby I Need You
B3. Waves - Mothers
B4. Ofo The Black Company - Beautiful Daddy
B5. War-Head Construction Graceful Bird
C1. The Magnificent Zenians - Ije Udo
C2. The Apostles - Never Too Late
C3. Aktion - Groove The Funk
C4. Wrinkar Experience - Ballad Of A Sad Woman
D1. The Founders 15 - I Can't Be Satisfied
D2. Tirogo - Float
D3. Question Mark - Scram Out
D4. P.R.O. - Tell Me
Available from 16.04.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung