Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Feb 05 2016 | 04:45
Image: 1601766 AUS music/!K7 is proud to announce Space
In Your Mind, the third album from UK artist,
Sei A. After two years in the making, Aus Music
and !K7 are proud to announce the release
of Scottish producer Sei A’s third full length,
Space in Your Mind. Two singles from the ten
track opus—‘Ancestors’ and ‘Space In Your
Mind’, complete with DJ Tennis remixes—will
come ahead of the full release on February
26th 2016.
Sei A is Andy Graham, an ever-evolving
producer who has cooked up many different
shades of house and techno since emerging in
2008. From dark and melodic to well swung and
bass heavy, he is not one to repeat the same
trick twice as two former LPs and more than
15 EPs on labels like Turbo, Life And Death,
Kompakt and Aus/Simple have proved before
now. As if to cement the point, this full length
finds Graham straying from the dance floor
to cook up a fulsome album that stands up
to introspective home listening.
“The LP came from writing a lot of music
in a short space of time,” says Graham. “I felt
I had grasped a sound and I wanted to expand it
further. Musically I was finding that the material
had much more space within the sound, with the
main structure of it being melodies, therefore
giving it quite a rich feel throughout. I was also
aiming to expand on writing actual songs that
take in verse/chorus, verse/chorus structures.”
And he has sure accomplished that, because
with the help of guest collaborators Will Samson
and Daudi Matsiko on four tracks, Space in Your
Mind is an absorbing listen with many melodies
and vocal lines lingering long in the memory.
There is a sombre feel to the album right
from the off. Opener ‘Always’ is a grainy, sparse
sonic landscape with fractured vocals and
dark drones eventually being cut through by
bright melodies. From there that pixelated
sense of melody continues through the bleak
ambience of ‘In The Light’ and ethereally back
lit glow of dark and dubby pop night ‘Space In
Your Mind.’ Full of shadowy spaces, greyscale
pads and comfortingly downbeat drums, tracks
like ‘Kalstar’ pick up the pace but remain
resolutely insular, whilst ‘Everytime’ is the
stunningly emotive jewel right at the heart of
the album. It marries forlorn and vulnerable
vocals with waify chords and downbeat synths
that are truly pained before ‘Everytime’ offers
a noteworthy break in the clouds with its vast
synth chords and heavenly vocals drifting in
perfect harmony. Then ’Ancestors’ features
more genuinely pained vocals amongst a dubby
brew of beats, ‘Morning Soldier’ conveys a real
sense of optimism after the darkness that has
gone before and from there the album plays
out through heavily hymnal atmospheres, heart
broken chords and teary eyed melody of the
sort that are truly moving.

1 | A1. Always
2 | A2. In The Light
3 | A3. Space In Your Mind (feat. Will Samson)
4 | B1. Kalstar
5 | B2. Linear
6 | C1. Everytime
7 | C2. Ancestors (feat. Will Samson)
8 | C3. Morning Soldier
9 | D1. Tides (feat. Will Samson)
10 | D2. Exit (feat. Daudi Matsiko)
11 | D3. Trails Of Gold

– Third Studio album from Andy Graham
featuring collaborators Will Samson &
Daudi Matsiko.
– Recorded & Mixed in London at Andy’s studio
& mastered at Optimum mastering in Bristol.
– Dj Tennis & Edward remix package to follow LP.
– Dj dates throughout Europe & USA in March/

Mano Le Tough, John Talabot, Lone, Bicep,
Caribou, Jamie XX, Howling, Apparat & Four Tet. Available from 18.03.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung