Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Jan 23, 2018
Jan 22, 2018
Movements Vol.9
Jan 22, 2018
Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jan 11 2016 | 12:53 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Rubble Kings (The Album)The album is a soundtrack of music inspired by the movie Rubble Kings. Produced by longtime Run The Jewels collaborator Little Shalimar, the album features appearances from Bun B, Ghostface Killah, Killer Mike, Tunde Adebimpe, Mr Muthaf*kin eXquire, Boldy James, Cuz Lightyear, Ka and Roxiny, in addition to Run The Jewels.

Scoring the film was the first time Little Shalimar set out to make period music. Half of the music on this album was taken directly from the score and is heavily indebted to ’60s and ’70s soul and funk music. For the new tunes Shalimar sampled joints from the score and created new beats out of them.

“The messages of hope and self-determination from the film are so applicable to modern times that we felt it was really important to include rappers and singers that young people check today. I’m in the fortunate position to work with a bunch of really great artists on a regular basis. I called on my friends and their friends to contribute vocals as project. I couldn’t be more pleased with how it turned out.”

Both the CD and LP version include an iron-on patch of the Rubble Kings plus a download code for the Rubble Kings documentary.


01. War
02. Savage Habits
03. Warrior Thing feat. eXquire
04. Bouncy 3 feat. King Mono
05. The Revolution Might Be Televised
06. Delaney Card feat. Ka
07. Edge of the Edge (Instrumental)
08. Rubble Kings Theme (Dynamite) feat. Run The Jewels
09. Partytime (Jitter Buggin)
10. Comes With The Territory
11. Same Damn Thang feat. Ghostface Killah, Boldy James & eXquire
12. The Piano District (Gentrification Boogie)
13. Phoenix feat. Roxiny & Tunde Adebimpe

The album VariousRubble Kings (The Album)” (Mass Appeal) is going to be released January 22, 2016.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung