Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jan 08 2016 | 01:07
Image: 1601249 STRUT continues to break new ground with its next compilation, ‘Aloha Got Soul’. It encompasses a vibrant era of contemporary music made in Hawai’i during the 1970s to the mid-1980s as jazz, rock, funk, disco and R&B co-existed alongside Hawaiian folk music.

New on Strut for February 2016, ‘Aloha Got Soul’ encompasses a vibrant era of contemporary music made in Hawai’i during the 1970s to the mid-1980s as jazz, rock, funk, disco and R&B co-existed alongside Hawaiian folk music.
Hawai’i’s identity had undergone huge change: statehood into America in ‘59 and the Vietnam War were the backdrop as Hawai’i’s youth found inspiration in a new wave of international music led initially by The Beatles and Stones and, later, by US R&B bands like Earth Wind & Fire and Tower Of Power. Garage bands flourished during the ‘60s and, by the ‘70s, live music was at its peak. W aikiki was filled with clubs: The Point After, Infinity’s, Hawaiian Hut, Spats and more.
For the ‘70s generation of artists, some came through the talent contest ‘Home Grown’ and its accompanying compilation LP. Singer Nohelani Cypriano won it with her instant radio hit, ‘Lihue’. Other winning songs, like Marvin Franklin’s soul surfer jam ‘Kona Winds’, burned more slowly but have endured with DJs today. Many records also packed a powerful message. In 1978, Hawaiian was made the official state language and a huge movement arose to revive hula and traditional music. Steve & Teresa’s ‘Kaho’olawe Song’ longs for an island long gone: the US military had used Kaho’olawe as a bombing range since Pearl Harbor. Nohelani Cypriano sang about the once sleepy town of Kailua, now a popular tourist destination: “Kailua needs no high-rise with her blue skies, not for our eyes. Can you realize?” Leading Hawaiian artists like Aura, Mike Lundy and keyboardist Kirk Thompson’s Lemuria took time in high quality facilities like Broad Recording Studio to make albums. Others grabbed studio time when they could: Tender Leaf’s Murray Compoc worked for the city bus by day and recorded an album during night sessions. Other albums were spontaneous. In 1983, Steve Maii & Teresa Bright recorded an acoustic set in just 3 hours after being invited to a studio following a gig. For the artists of the ‘70s, the climate for music changed rapidly during the mid-‘80s as DJ culture grew and live venues shut down. Hawai’i’s R&B era shone brightly and relatively briefly but, despite brilliant musicians, regular gigs and LP releases, most of the music barely made it to the mainland. Thanks largely to Aloha Got Soul’s Roger Bong, a new interest in this fertile era of Hawaiian music has grown, culminating in this new compilation of overlooked gems. ‘Aloha Got Soul’ is compiled and annotated by Bong and features rare photos and original artwork.

1. Tender Leaf - "Countryside Beauty"
2. Aura - "Yesterday's Love"
3. Aina - "Your Light"
4. Lemuria - "Get That Happy Feeling"
5. Roy & Roe - "Just Don't Come Back"
6. Hawaii - "Lady Of My Heart"
7. Hal Bradbury - "Call Me"
8. Mike Lundy - "Love One Another"
9. Nova - "I Feel Like Getting Down"
10. Nohelani Cypriano - "O'Kailua"
11. Brother Noland - "Kawaihae"
12. Marvin Franklin - "Kona Winds" (with Kimo & The Guys)
13. Greenwood - "Sparkle"
14. Chucky Boy Chock & Mike Kaawa - "Papa'A Tita" (with Brown Co)
15. Steve & Teresa - "Kaho'Olawe Song"
16. Rockwell Fukino - "Coast To Coast"

- First ever compilation documenting Hawai’i’s varied R&B, AOR, jazz and disco scene
- Rare tracks, mostly never reissued since their original release in Hawai’i
- sleeve notes by Aloha Got Soul’s Roger Bong featuring exclusive artist interviews, rare photos and original LP artwork
- Great sales potential through 2016 into Summer months
- Currently planning accompanying live dates with Nohelani Cypriano for 2016

Gilles Peterson, Floating Points, Earth Wind & Fire, Tower Of Power, Doobie
Brothers, Ned Doheny, Bobby Caldwell, Roy Ayers, Minnie Riperton, Jon Lucien,
Shuggie Otis, Donald Fagen, Boz Scaggs, Seawind, CTI jazz. Available from 18.03.2016
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung