Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Sep 14 2015 | 13:39 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Daptone Gold Vol.2Six years after the release of acclaimed greatest hits and rarities collection Daptone Gold, Daptone Records announces the release of Daptone Gold II. Where the original put a spotlight on Daptone’s unique sonic mission, Daptone Gold II reveals just how far things have come, packed with favourites from the last six years, along with tracks previously unavailable or only obtainable via 45. The release also follows Daptone’s 2014 Super Soul Revue, a series of shows that saw the entire Daptone roster perform together, culminating in three sold out nights at the world famous Apollo Theater. This new double album brings fans up to date with the Brooklyn label that has become a premier source of new soulful music and a model for independent labels everywhere.

Featuring some of the most popular songs ever released by Daptone, the album includes Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings’ “Better Things” (from the 2010 album I Learned the Hard Way), “Inspiration Information,” (a Shuggie Otis cover from Soul Time!) and “Retreat!” from their latest album Give the People What They Want.

Other favourites include Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens’ 2014 track “Sinner”; “Strictly Reserved For You” and “Heartaches and Pain”, by Charles Bradley; “Hot Shot” by 2015 breakout band Saun & Starr, “Dirty Money” by Afrobeat outfit Antibalas, and “Got To Get Back To My Baby” by The Sugarman 3, as well as many others.

Songs previously only available on 45 include “Luv Jones,” a duet by Charles Bradley and LaRose Jackson, “Little Boys With Shiny Toys” by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, and “Out Of The Wilderness” by The Como Mamas. Previously unreleased songs include the instrumental “Thunderclap” by The Dap-Kings and “You Got To Move” performed by Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens.

In the spirit of Daptone’s commitment to beautiful physical products, the Daptone Gold II double LP is packaged in a silver foil gatefold sleeve and comes with a poster, liner notes and iron-on, and the CD is in a deluxe embossed silver foil digipak.

“This is a label, a family of musicians, at the top of its game … witness Daptone in its prime” – Mr. Fine Wine, WFMU

“Daptone is a very special, one of a kind place and I am honoured to be part of this family. No other record label can compare.” – Saundra Williams, Saun & Starr


01. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – Better Things To Do (from I Learned the Hard Way)
02. Charles Bradley (featuring Menahan Street Band) – Strictly Reserved For You (from Victim of Love)
03. Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens – Sinner (from Cold World)
04. Saun & Starr – Hot Shot (from Look Closer)
05. Antibalas – Dirty Money (from Antibalas)
06. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – Inspiration Information (from Soul Time!)
07. Menahan Street Band – The Traitor (from Make The Road By Walking)
08. Charles Bradley – Heartaches And Pain (from No Time For Dreaming)
09. The Budos Band – Unbroken, Unshaven (from The Budos Band III)
10. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings – Retreat! (from Give the People What They Want)
11. The Sugarman 3 – Witches Boogaloo (from What The World Needs Now)
12. Saun & Starr – Look Closer (Can’t You See The Signs?) (from Look Closer)
13. Menahan Street Band – Keep Coming Back (from The Crossing)
14. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – I Learned The Hard Way (from I Learned The Hard Way)
15. The Sugarman 3 – Got To Get Back To My Baby (from What The World Needs Now)
16. The Budos Band – Aphasia (from Burnt Offering)
17. The Como Mamas – Out Of The Wilderness (Previously Released on 45 Only)
18. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings – Little Boys With Shiny Toys (Previously Released on 45 Only)
19. Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens – You Got To Move (Previously Unreleased)
20. Charles Bradley & LaRose Jackson – Luv Jones (Previously Released on 45 Only)
21. The Dap-Kings – Thunderclap (Previously Unreleased)

The compilation VariousDaptone Gold Vol.2” (Daptone Records) is going to be released September 18, 2015.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung