Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Sep 07 2015 | 12:58 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Brian AugerBrian Auger – lauded and loved by everybody from Herbie Hancock to Mose Allison, from the Brand New Heavies to The Beastie Boys, his tracks have been sampled by Mos Def, Common, Air and Kid Loco, his original compositions covered by Sarah Vaughan, Richard ‘Groove’ Holmes and The Main Ingredient.

Taking the path less traveled, indeed, forging a new path guided by one’s own individual musical instincts certainly would not be the most obvious and easiest route to creative and commercial success. However, Brian Auger has always displayed a fiercely independent and single minded approach to his music – and after over 50 years of doing just that, has firmly secured his reputation as an award winning and much loved musical innovator, award winning jazz piano prodigy, a Swinging 60’s London scenester, early jazz fusion protagonist, the godfather of acid jazz, a 2014 Hammond Organ Hall of Fame Inductee, as well as being known as a generous, hilarious and warm hearted human being.

This 24 track, career spanning anthology covers over 50 years of Brian Auger’s music – from his poll winning jazz piano trio, classic and slept on tracks by Julie Driscoll & The Trinity, his pioneering 70’s jazz fusion outfit The Oblivion Express and includes rare tracks and new material from his Grammy Nominated, award winning life in music – as well as material from his forthcoming brand new live album Live In Los Angeles with original Oblivion Express vocalist Alex Ligertwood back on vocal duties

Back To The Beginning is a celebration of one of music’s great innovators, a musician’s musician who’s playing also speaks directly to the heart of whoever is listening. After over 50 years as a ground breaking professional player, his skills and spirit remain undiminished, one who still promotes a simple and always relevant message – Peace Through Music.



01. Blues Three Four
02. There Is No Greater Love
03. Broadway
04. Shake (feat. Rod Stewart)
05. That Driving Beat (feat. Julie Driscoll)
06. Save Me (feat. Julie Driscoll)
07. Black Cat
08. I’ve Gotta Go Now
09. Flesh Failures (Let The Sunshine In) [feat. Julie Driscoll]
10. Ellis Island
11. Finally Found You Out
12. Indian Rope Man (feat. Julie Driscoll)
13. Red Beans & Rice, Pt. 1 (Big Band Version)
14. Fire In The Mind
15. Listen Here


01. Freedom Jazz Dance
02. Whenever You’re Ready
03. Beginning Again (Live At The Whisky A Go Go)
04. Somebody Help Us
05. No Time To Live (feat. Julie Tippetts)
06. Git Up (feat. Julie Tippetts)
07. Freddie’s Flight
08. Butterfly (feat. Savannah Auger)
09. Future Pilot (Live in Los Angeles) [feat. Alex Ligertwood]

The album Brian AugerBack To The Beginning: The Brian Auger Anthology” (Freestyle Records) is going to be released September 11, 2015.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung