Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Aug 13 2015 | 09:25
Image: 1598898 The contributions of the late Detroit producer James DeWitt Yancey -better
known to the world as J Dilla- to the world of hip-hop can't be overstated, and
nowhere is his legacy more apparent than his work as a member of Slum Village.
A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided
the group's distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding
basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul
samples. Against the backdrop of Dilla's rich production, T3 and Baatin's
free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to
comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves
have rejected.)
It's on Slum Village's 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, that all these
elements come together in the most proficient manner. An instant hit among
Detroit's underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best
elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one
cohesive style that was a hit among critics. Fan-Tas-Tic's influence extended far
beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of D'Angelo, Erykah
Badu, and The Roots just to name a few. (Roots drummer ?uestlove has even
declared that: "Hands down this album birthed the neo-soul movement.")
Ne'Astra Media Group now presents the album reissued on vinyl, for the first
time in several years. Every wobbling bass note of J Dilla's production has been
preserved and every freestyle line of T3 and Baatin has been re-created, to
maintain the legacy of a late-90s rap classic, and the legend of one of hip-hop's
greatest beatsmiths.

A1. Fantastic
A2. Keep It On (This Beat)
A3. I Don't Know
A4. How We Bullshit
A5. Fat Cat Song (feat. Phat Kat)
A6. The Look Of Love
B1. Estimate
B2. Hoc N Pucky
B3. Beej N Dem
B4. Pregnant
B5. Forth & Back
B6. Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
B7. Fantastic 3 (Interlude)
C1. Keep It On
C2. 5 Ela (Remix)
C3. Give This Nigga
C4. Players
C5. Look Of Love (Remix)
C6. Pregnant (Remix)
D1. Things U Do (Remix)
D2. Fat Cat (Remix)
D3. Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
D4. What's Love Got To Do With It (Look Of Love Remix)
D5. 2 You 4 You Available from 11.09.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung