Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Aug 07 2015 | 05:01
Image: 1598622 Six years after the release of acclaimed greatest hits and rarities collection Daptone Gold, Daptone Records announces the release of Daptone Gold II on September 18, 2015. Where the original put a spotlight on Daptone's unique sonic mission, Daptone Gold II reveals just how far things have come, packed with favourites from the last six years, along with tracks previously unavailable or only obtainable via 45. The release also follows Daptone's 2014 Super Soul Revue, a series of shows that saw the entire Daptone roster perform together, culminating in three sold out nights at the world famous Apollo Theater. This new double album brings fans up to date with the Brooklyn label that has become a premier source of new soulful music and a model for independent labels everywhere.

Featuring some of the most popular songs ever released by Daptone, the album includes Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings' "Better Things" (from the 2010 album I Learned the Hard Way), "Inspiration Information," (a Shuggie Otis cover from Soul Time!) and "Retreat!" from their latest album Give the People What They Want.

Other favourites include Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens' 2014 track "Sinner", "Strictly Reserved For You" and "Heartaches and Pain", by Charles Bradley, "Hot Shot" by 2015 breakout band Saun & Starr, "Dirty Money" by Afrobeat outfit Antibalas, and "Got To Get Back To My Baby" by The Sugarman 3, as well as many others.

Songs previously only available on 45 include "Luv Jones," a duet by Charles Bradley and LaRose Jackson, "Little Boys With Shiny Toys" by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, and "Out Of The Wilderness" by The Como Mamas. Previously unreleased songs include the instrumental "Thunderclap" by The Dap-Kings and "You Got To Move" performed by Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens.

In the spirit of Daptone's commitment to beautiful physical products, the Daptone Gold II double LP is packaged in a silver foil gatefold sleeve and comes with a poster, liner notes and iron-on, and the CD is in a deluxe embossed silver foil digipak.

"This is a label, a family of musicians, at the top of its game…witness Daptone in its prime" - Mr. Fine Wine, WFMU

"Daptone is a very special, one of a kind place and I am honoured to be part of this family. No other record label can compare." – Saundra Williams, Saun & Starr

Tracklist For Daptone Gold II

Side One
1. Better Things To Do (from I Learned the Hard Way) - Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
2. Strictly Reserved For You (from Victim of Love) - Charles Bradley (Featuring Menahan Street Band)
3. Sinner (from Cold World) - Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens
4. Hot Shot (from Look Closer) - Saun & Starr
5. Dirty Money (from Antibalas) - Antibalas

Side Two
6. Inspiration Information (from Soul Time!) - Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
7. The Traitor (from Make The Road By Walking) - Menahan Street Band
8. Heartaches And Pain (from No Time For Dreaming) - Charles Bradley
9. Unbroken, Unshaven (from The Budos Band III) - The Budos Band
10. Retreat! (from Give the People What They Want) - Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
11. Witches Boogaloo (from What The World Needs Now) - The Sugarman 3

Side Three
12. Look Closer (Can't You See The Signs?) (from Look Closer) - Saun & Starr
13. Keep Coming Back (from The Crossing) - Menahan Street Band
14. I Learned The Hard Way (from I Learned The Hard Way) - Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
15. Got To Get Back To My Baby (from What The World Needs Now) - The Sugarman 3
16. Aphasia (from Burnt Offering) - The Budos Band

Side Four
17. Out Of The Wilderness (Previously Released on 45 Only) - The Como Mamas
18. Little Boys With Shiny Toys (Previously Released on 45 Only) - Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
19. You Got To Move (Previously Unreleased) - Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens
20. Luv Jones (Previously Released on 45 Only) - Charles Bradley & LaRose Jackson
21. Thunderclap (Previously Unreleased) - The Dap-Kings Available from 18.09.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung