Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Saturday, Jul 18 2015 | 09:26
Image: 1597314 The second instalment of the Tru Thoughts Covers compilation series brings together some of the intriguing cover versions that have been released and loved as album tracks, singles or one-offs on the label.

As well as contributions from familiar Tru Thoughts artists there are some previously unreleased tunes that have been sought out and signed specifically for this compilation, with La Grima’s dub style rework of Nirvana, Fingathing taking Donna Summer down a disco jazz tip, and Nizzle Hizzle transforming War’s “The World Is A Ghetto”.

Opening in a deep, downtempo direction, the album kicks off with Quantic and Alice Russell exploring a gospel sound on the hugely popular “I’ll Keep My Light In My Window”, taken from their acclaimed ‘Look Around The Corner’ collaborative LP. The Bamboos take James Blake to a soul basement, with Megan Washington on vocals, Zed Bias tackles a Soul II Soul classic whilst Kinny and Harleighblu bring their own unique and illuminating versions of The Cure and Eurythmics, respectively.

Ramping up the raucous factor, The Hot 8 Brass Band give a new meaning to The Specials’ iconic Ghost Town by transposing it onto a post-Katrina New Orleans, and Quantic gives a Cumbia rendition of a Dr Dre classic, while Youngblood Brass Band rock up with a club and festival favourite in the shape of their punchy instrumental brass takeover of Rufus and Chaka Khan’s “Ain’t Nobody”.

A great cover version has the power to surprise, amuse, blur genre boundaries, cause debate or simply get people dancing to something they never knew they loved. All these tracks have proved popular amongst a diverse range of fans, DJs and radio shows across the world, and it is quite something to hear them all together. The albums comes out on CD, alongside a special blue vinyl version.

LP Tracklist :
A1. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo – Nuthin’ But A ‘G’ Thing (Dre En Cumbia).
A2. La Grima – Lithium.
A3. Hot 8 Brass Band – Ghost Town.
A4. Harleighblu – Who’s That Girl?
B1. Alice Russell - I’m The Man, That Will Find You.
B2. Youngblood Brass Band – Ain’t Nobody.
B3. Fingathing – I Feel Love feat. Jesca Hoop.
Comes with download card, including all CD album tracks

CD Tracklist :
1. Quantic & Alice Russell With The Combo Bárbaro – I’ll Keep My Light In My Window
2. Natural Self – The Valleys feat. Tanya Auclair & Milly Blue
3. The Bamboos – The Wilhelm Scream feat. Megan Washington
4. Alice Russell - I’m The Man, That Will Find You
5. La Grima – Lithium
6. Belleruche – Mirror In The Bathroom
7. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo – Nuthin’ But A ‘G’ Thing (Dre En Cumbia)
8. Harleighblu – Who’s That Girl?
9. Hot 8 Brass Band – Ghost Town
10. Mark de Clive-Lowe & The Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra – Caravan
11. Fingathing – I Feel Love feat. Jesca Hoop
12. Zed Bias – Fairplay feat. Jenna G
13. Nizzle Hizzle – The World Is A Ghetto
14. Saravah Soul – Fire
15. Youngblood Brass Band – Ain’t Nobody
16. Kinny – The Love Cats
17. Quantic & Anita Tijoux– Doo Wop (That Thing) Available from 07.08.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung