Recent posts

Perez – Cavernes
Jan 16, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, May 01 2015 | 06:29
Image: 1595915 After two critically acclaimed volumes of the producer oriented compilations Tempo Dreams, Brooklyn's Bastard Jazz Recordings is back with Volume 3 of the beat-centric, forward looking series. For this album, the label has tapped Soul Clap, the Boston bred, international ambassadors of all things funky. Piloting their cosmic mothership all over the globe, Soul Clap have built a cult following worldwide both through their solo endevaors and through their Crew Love brand formed with Brooklyn's Wolf+Lamb. Staying with the series theme of showcasing new styles, emerging artists and their own peers, Soul Clap has compiled a showcase of all unreleased modern funk, electro soul , and leftfield house music on this compilation sure to make their spiritual guide Dr. Funkenstein aka George Clinton proud.

As in with previous volumes, the artists included come from different places, spaces and times but are tied together by the musical connection running concurrent on the record. Soul Clap's is certainly represented through their own original track "So Sedated", a chugging synth heavy ode to the transformational powers of the dancefloor featuring understated vocals by Dayonne Rollins. Crew Love & Dirtybird artist Tanner Ross teams up with Jules Born for "No 1 Else But You", a late night off-kilter piece of nasty funk, while fellow teammate Navid Izadhi brings a Cali swagger with the smoothed out G-Funk vibes of "Cadillack". The left coast is further represented with Pasadena's XL Middleton whose "AntiSlumper" kicks off the album with a throwback boogie vibe, while the mothership-approved production team FSQ delivers the irresistible down & dirty "Break The Funk". Amsterdam artist Tom Trago comes in tough with the electro porn of "Hard Cash" while NYC is represented fully with disco hero Tom Noble's "Tanked", Analog Player's Society's wavey "Enter City", and Greg Paulus's late night soul vibes on "Everything (Love Down)".

1. XL Middleton - Antislumper
2. Tom Trago - Hard Cash (feat. M. Cruzer)
3. J. Loverman feat. Robert O'Dell - Life Unlimited (Ajukaja & Andrevski Rework)
4. Tom Noble - Tanked
5. Jules Born & Tanner Ross - No 1 Else but You
6. Soul Clap - So Sedated (feat. Dayonne Rollins)
7. FSQ - Break the Funk
8. Inkswel - Jade Skyline (feat. Isaac Aesili & Harvey Sutherland)
9. Analog Players Society - Enter City
10. Navid Izadi - Cadilack
11. Butterfly - G. Koop (feat. 13teen)
12. Greg Paulus - Everything (Love Down)
Available from 24.04.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung